The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 969,956 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

A Hungry Beaver Takes the Prize

Posted by thedarwinexception on August 2, 2008

 

So we went to the fair Friday night. It was opening night and admission was free (rather than the $8.00 to $12.00 fee you will pay the rest of the week – each), so we always go on “free night”. I don’t have kids, and I don’t go on the rides, so I don’t spend a lot of money at the fair and I don’t want to pay $16.00 to $24.00 just to go in and take a look around.

I really wanted to go in the “Domestic Arts” building and see my stuff all laid out amongst the other entries – but I couldn’t do that. The door to the building was open, but there was a sign on the door that said “Closed for Judging”, and there was a  man in a lawn chair posted at the door telling people the same thing. I kind of stuck my head in the door past the man in the lawn chair, but I couldn’t see my items, so I was kind of pissed off. I asked the guy if ALL the judging was going to be done that night, you know, if they were choosing the Edna Hill Memorial prize winners, too, and he didn’t know.

The Edna Hill Memorial prizes are the “big” ones, the one that I won last year with the big prize money and the special certificate – sort of the “Best in Show” winners. I didn’t want to pay the admission price to go tot he fair on Sunday, only to have someone say – “Oh, the fair judging is done, but we haven’t chosen the Edna Hill winners yet”.

So, just as we were leaving, disappointed that I couldn’t take pictures of my items sitting among the other entries, a lady starts coming up the aisle and she says “Kim??? Kim??”

Now, when someone seems to know my name in Malone – and I don’t recognize them, I kind of get nervous. I don’t know if it’s someone who disagrees with my point of view about the Redneck Games and wants to fuck me up, or if it’s a stalker who just Looooooves me and wants to do some kind of Stephen King Misery shit on my legs, or if it’s some relative of some degenerate barn squatter I’ve thrown out of my house.

So I kind of reluctantly said “Yeah, I’m Kim…”

And the lady came up to the barn door and said “You’ll be getting a call.”

I said “I’ll be getting a what?”

And she said “You’ll be getting a call. You won the Edna Hill award – they’ll call you and tell you when the awards ceremonies are.”

Woo fucking Hoo. That’s a 2-peat, people. The title has been successfully defended. I asked her “How did you know I was Kim?” And she said “Because I’m the one who checked you in the other day when you dropped your stuff off – I knew you’d win.”

So that made me excited. So excited that we went and ate at the “Hungry Beaver.” Just because I thought it was the funniest named place at the fair.

So, the awards ceremony will probably be Tuesday or Wednesday. I’ll let you know when I get the call, and when I go to get my $$$$$$$$ and my certificate. I’ll take pictures. I’m thinking the little red/magenta/ set had to be the winner, right? And I need to ask the people at the fair if there is a limit to how many years in a row you can win it. Someone in AFCA pointed out that they might cap that shit – you know, so you can’t have a dynasty and discourage other people from entering. But I’m all for a dynasty. I don’t give a fuck how many people lose to me year after year after year. Fuck em.

But – we won, people. Yeah!!!!

33 Responses to “A Hungry Beaver Takes the Prize”

  1. Maizy said

    Way cool! Congrats!

  2. anygirl said

    Whooo Hooo…of course you won woman.That is so great….yep it must have been the magenta set…or any of it for goodness sake….it was all so wonderful.

    I can not even tell you the images I am having about the name of that place you went to celebrate…LOL…too funny…great job once again our talented friend…

  3. Sandy said

    Fly high Kim! We all knew you would win and very proud. How great the lady caught you to share ahead of ttime…not all are ignorant in Malone. She must have been as happy as you are for winning.

    Do they take pics and put it in the paper or on the fair website? I want to see the winnings and “you”.

  4. Gail said

    Kim, CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    LOL I am all for ‘Kim’s Dynasty’ taking over the ‘Edna Hill Award’ too! Why not, the BEST of BEST should always win and I’m like you betting my money on the red/magenta adorable adorable beautiful little darling outfit!

    Kim of Malone has done it again! Woooooo Hoooooo!!!!!

    3 Cheers for Kim, hip hip HOORAY! Hip hip HOORAY Hip Hip HOORAY!

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 Can you tell, I’m so excited for you Kim!

  5. Kay said

    CONGRATULATIONS Kim on winning the Edna Hill Award! The winning entry has to be the beautiful red baby sweater set. Such intricate work, and such beautiful color.
    I echo Sandy’s comment above….it would be so great to see a photo of you receiving the award.

  6. Nannette said

    CONGRATULATIONS! Job well done! Hope we are able to see the award ceremony?!?! again, CONGRATS!!

  7. mclayton said

    Congratulations Kim, all your work is so beautiful!!! Wish I had a talent–guess sitting in my recliner, reading blogs, and eating tomato sandwiches would not win any prizes huh? Thanks for your Spector updates, and please keep us updated on your health issues. Take good care, we need you!!

  8. Gail in NC said

    Kim, I just knew you would win. Your work is so beautiful and I’m sure much love goes into it. Congratulations!

  9. HT said

    Hats off to you, Edna.

    HT

  10. Anne said

    Hooray and congrats!

  11. Caroline said

    CONGRATULATIONS KIM! They are not stupid, they HONOUR the Coco Chanel clone who has mysteriously popped up in Malone. I am thrilled for you.

    Seriously, Your work is top drawer, and your creativity is right up there with any of the top designers working today. Whoever saw such gorgeous “UGG Disco Booties” and a Raspberry baby layette? They should rename the award after you. Cannot wait to see the pictures!

  12. Tess said

    Successfully defended…of course. What else could someone make that could top what you have done? I guess the answer is nothing. We are so proud of you girl.
    Way to go…
    Tess

  13. Tess said

    PS…I told you they were the berries!!!

  14. kizzzy said

    Congrats Kim.

    I knit also and it’s said my work is very neat tension wise BUT I never could master the circular needles.
    I have made beautiful sweaters for kids and myself but had to learn by someone teaching me when I was a child.
    I cannot learn by books so as I said, I never mastered the circular.

    Your work is magnificent! Thanks for sharing it with us.

  15. Sandy said

    Hey…Have Paul take that video camera and shoot the award ceremony. Well, not “shoot it”, but take any video possible of the award stuff. We know you can upload it for all to see. No getting out of it.

  16. Bahamamama said

    Your Hungry Beaver restaurant reminds me of a notorious “hooch” hotel we have here in the Bahamas right upstairs from a coffee shop called “The Daily Grind”. I crack up every time I drive by it. Toooooo funny!

  17. Sprocket said

    I knew you’d win. Your baby stuff is always the most adorable.

  18. Kim (Canaada) said

    YAHOO!
    Happy dance –

    Real proud of you, Kim-ster…
    Even tho we ALL knew you’d win!

    Fonzie :`)

  19. luvgabe said

    We’re so proud of & so absolutely thrilled for you!!! I second Sandy’s suggestion for Paul to videotape the awards ceremony. 🙂

    Surely, there must be some national or international knitting competition you can enter as well. Malone is too small for you, woman!

  20. I second Sandy’s suggestion for Paul to videotape the awards ceremony.

    Yeah, sorry, that ain’t gonna happen. I have to have SOME anonymity in this town. These peole LOVE their Redneck Games. I can have Paul take pictures and email them to anyone who wants one, but they aren’t going to be posted here.

    Kim

  21. Sandy said

    Oh Kim, I hadn’t even thought about publishing who you are for all of Malone to know. But I’d love a photo.

  22. LydiaClaire said

    Congratulations Kin! Your knitting is wicked cool – and yes, it had to be the red outfit. I’m not one to ooooo and ahhhh but that outfit even got to me.
    Looking forward to your insightful Spector coverage as well.

  23. AtwoodLady said

    Congratulations Kim!!!!!
    Winning a prize with something you made just HAS to be the best feeling!!!

  24. HT said

    I’d like an 8×10 autographed, of course.

    HT

  25. JayDee said

    If the event is Wednesday, bring sideburns, it’s Elvis tribute day.

  26. Cathy said

    Ah, Kim, we all knew you were a shoo-in to win. Certainly SOMEONE in Malone has to have your good taste and sense of artistry!
    Congratulations!

  27. groo said

    Woo fucking Hoo!!!

    Now I want to eat at the Beaver, too.

  28. LOL! Way to go Kim!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  29. Niner said

    WOOOO HOOOOO!!! I KNEW you’d win, Kim!! I too am not the type to oooo and ahhh – but that red baby outfit with the booties was the TOPS!!!

    HIP HIP HOORAY!! for KIM!!!

    Love the refresher on the Spector I trial!!

  30. A.D.A. said

    Warmest congratulations, Kimmer! 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Your friend

  31. ellen said

    Congratulations on your well deserved win! How nice that she came out to tell you so you can enjoy the glow a little sooner!

  32. your bro said

    congrats sis! the items you made were very nice and you deserved to win. i don’t think they could tell you that you can’t enter anymore. that wouldn’t be right just because you have talent.

  33. Rick B. said

    I think you’ve reached the “COWER MORTALS!!” level.

Leave a Reply

 
