The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,321 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Yeah, Yeah, I Know…..

Posted by thedarwinexception on March 27, 2008

 Ok – I won’t be coy and ask if you missed me, because judging by the comments, I think you fucking did.

So, I finally got my computer back. Know what was wrong with it? Apparently a fan mounting bracket broke. This meant that the fan wasn’t turning, resulting in the computer overheating and shutting off when I turned it on. And judging by how quickly the computer turned off, it wasn’t taking long to overheat.

But, as is the norm for the computer guy, it took him two weeks to open the back of the computer, see the broken fan mount lying on the bottom of the case, and fixing it.

Someday I want to be a Malone computer guy. You know why? Because they never fucking work. This is a guy who has a shop that is only open from 10 to 4 during the week, and is closed on the weekend. I called him last Friday to get an update on the status of my computer and I got the answering machine – it said “We’re sorry, we will be closed to day for Good Friday.” I almost fucking died. Are you fucking kidding me? Closed for Good Friday? The fucking post office is open, the banks are open – but the computer guy is closed? And you know, I could understand if it he was like some fucking elder in the Church or something. But he’s about as religious as I am. Which isn’t very.

Then, of course, Leslie the Chamber of Commerce lady was gone for over a week. Her husband is very, very ill in Ohio someplace, and she had to leave to go be with him. So I didn’t have my computer, I didn’t have my Chamber of Commerce lady, and it is about impossible to post to the blog on the laptop. So it was a very fucked up week, all in all.

And just by serendipity, I got the computer back today *and* Leslie the Chamber of Commerce lady came home today, too. So things are looking up. I got the computer *and* the Chamber of Commerce lady back!

Here is my theme song for the next few days:

 

So – what else has been happening? No word from zombie lady – but there is still 2 feet of snow on the ground, and we still get snow about every other day, so I don’t expect she will be home until at least the snow stops – and maybe some of what we have melts some.

I finished *two* sweaters during my downtime – believe that shit? Yup – two.

This one is for one of the readers here – she asked me to make it for a friend of hers who is having a baby. It’s the Lacey Diamonds set from Shifio’s patterns. How do you like it?

So tomorrow I have a doctor’s appointment. I’m glad Leslie the Chamber of Commerce lady is back – she’s taking me. I need to ask the doctor about these fucked up pills they have me on that make me sleep – and why I still have a high blood pressure – and why the pain in my chest never did go away. All good questions, right?

So, I’m fine. Paul’s fine. Milo is fine. Brewster is fine- Holly, well, Holly is still the chew dog from Hell, but she’s fine – for now.

And I hope to write every single day this week to make up for not posting for a while.

 

 

 

26 Responses to “Yeah, Yeah, I Know…..”

  1. Windsmiles said

    YAY! I’ve never posted before but I was so happy to see a new post from you I scared my dogs with the screech. You were missed greatly!

  2. Anakerie said

    It’s so good to see a new post from you, Kim! I know exactly what you mean about the computer guys. We’ve got a shop here that sounds a lot like the one you deal with. Hopefully your computer will stay up and running for a long while now!

  3. Kay said

    So happy to see your post today. You have been sorely missed!
    It is hard to understand why it took two weeks for the computer repairman to find and fix the broken fan bracket in your computer. The things you have said about Malone being laid back must be true!
    The knitting projects you completed are very nice. I especially like the Lacey Diamonds sweater set….beautiful!
    Hope that the pills, blood pressure and chest pain will be resolved during your doctor’s appointment tomorrow.
    Take care Kim….Positive thoughts are coming your way.

  4. Squiggy said

    I’m glad you’re back and all is well again. The sweaters are beautiful and I’m sorry your computer guy is so fucking lazy. In my experience, most computer guys are.

    I don’t mean to sound cold or unappreciative, Kim. But, isn’t there someone that you could ask to come on here and let us know if there’s something seriously wrong? Or, just let us know that you’re alright? I mean, you DO have many loyal readers of your blog, even if we don’t comment very often. It kinda sucks going almost 3 weeks, coming on here every day, seeing nothing new and worrying that something bad has happened to you. You remember how you felt not knowing if ZL was okay. It’s not a good feeling.

    Anyway, I’m glad your back and I’m very happy that you’re well. From what I read, most of us, if not ALL of us really like and respect you. Therefore…WE WORRY ABOUT YOU!

    Always,
    Squiggy (the re-named Kim from California)

  5. tess said

    hallelujah!! Glad to have you back. At least you had some serious knitting time without too much to side-track you. They are really beautiful. Welcome back.

  6. HT said

    You been gone three weeks and that’s all you have to say for yourself?

    HT

    (don’t get all pissed off, readers, I’m saying that “tongue in cheek”)

  7. Gail theotherone said

    Hi Kim and All~ and I haven’t posted for an age but check the blog now and then.

    Dang the fricken computer guy anyway! I was really hoping you were OK there gal! I mean really really OK! I was seriously worried about you! Kim take care of yourself 🙂

    Hey thinking about ZL and her teacup garden, note-the newest thing in decorating the landscape, necklaces for trees! Tree Jewelry! OK! lol

    (I was wondering what I was going to do with all that old jewelry from my Mom’s house!)

  8. Becky Ayers said

    It was so great seeing a new title today and having you back on-line…you were missed. The sweaters are beyond beautiful, lucky babies receiving them. Stay warm, spring is sure to come soon.

    Becky

  9. A.D.A. said

    Mighty glad to see you back, Kim! The sweaters are incredibly beautiful; the Lacey Diamonds is too, too wonderful! You should enter it – it’s a prizewinner.
    Good wishes for the doctor’s visit. How sorry I am to hear how you suffer!
    We’ll be looking for your next post.
    All the best & love.

  10. ginger said

    So glad to see you are back! Beautiful sweaters!

  11. Val Dalton said

    Yeah Kim is back!!!!!!
    I love those sweaters. Get ready we’re having another one!!! Due Sept 27th!! I dont know if it’s a boy or girl yet. The Dr said it needs to be a girl to even things out, I agree with her but we should know by the end of April or sometime in May. 🙂

  12. Sandy in Colorado Springs said

    My morning coffee hasn’t tasted this good in weeks. It was torment not knowing how you were. So glad to hear from you.

    Still having the same symptoms? The doc had better get you well or we will have the Malone meeting at his office.

  13. luvgabe said

    Happy & relieved you are back, Kim! I second what Sandy wrote. Kim, please print her comments & give them to your doc, today.

    My good wishes & thoughts go with you on your medical appointment 🙂

  14. Get ready we’re having another one!!! Due Sept 27th!!

    ARE YOU KIDDING ME?????!!!! You’re kidding me, aren’t you? You’re just trying to give me something to live for, aren’t you.

    Are you serious???

    OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD

    I am so excited I’m in tears. Oh MY GOD.

    I’m thrilled beyond words and all belief. You aren’t kidding me, are you? Because that would just be mean.

    I don’t care if it’s a boy or a girl. You’ve already shown you know how to make the cutest boys in the world – so I think it could be either and be absolutely precious. Are you having a shower? If you have a shower will you invite me? Did you get pregnant just so I’d make you that ruffle sweater? Does this mean you don’t want Luke anymore, because I’ll take him.

    What names do you have picked out? I trust you won’t give it some fucked up name that I have to laugh at.

    I see a bunting in your future!

    What color is the nursery – because I have to make a crib blanket.

    I shouldn’t have thrown out the boppy cover pattern.

    OH MY GOD. SO LITTLE TIME SO MUCH TO DO!!!!!!!

    Kim

  15. Rhonda said

    Oh Lord so glad you are okay! I may not post comments but I check your blog every day, and like others was was very worried. I’m with squiggy, on having a friend or Paul letting your readers know that your are not holed up in some scary Malone hospital, or in one of Malone’s prisons for shooting the computer guy.

    The sweaters are beautiful!

    All the Best for your upcoming medical appointment.

  16. I’m with squiggy, on having a friend or Paul letting your readers know that your are not holed up in some scary Malone hospital, or in one of Malone’s prisons for shooting the computer guy.

    Well, I’m sure SOMEONE would let you all know – there are a few people here who I talk to quite regular like on the phone – the 2 Leslie’s and Val, anyway. I think Janice reads here, and I know Paul’s sister pops in every once in a while so she can have shit to laugh at him about when she talks to him on the phone.

    Somebody would know if I turned up dead – fuck, Val and Janice and Leslie the Chamber of Commerce lady would know – the town will probably throw a fucking parade when I die. Or maybe dedicate the Redneck Games to me that year.

    So they’d stop by to tell you, I’m sure.

    I guess I’ll give Val the password to the blog so she can write a scathing “In Memorium” post when I keel over. I’d love that.

    Kim

  17. Val Dalton said

    HAHA no i’m not kidding!! We are so excited. We put a bib on Luke for Easter that said “i’m going to be a big brother” and waited to see how long it took for someone to read his “special easter bib”

    We have a girls name picked out it was the one we were going to use for Luke if he was a girl. Anna Marie. We havn’t picked out a boys name yet I’m leaning toward Mark Paul. No nursery colors yet… but i will let you know. I dont think i’m going to have a shower this time since i just had one a few years ago, but if i did of course i would invite you!

    I’m so glad you are back online i’ve been worried about you. I’ll have to make you some homemade goodies and head over for a chat sometime. I am awaiting the snow to melt so we can get outside and walk again without freezing our butts off!!

  18. We have a girls name picked out it was the one we were going to use for Luke if he was a girl. Anna Marie.

    Anna Marie? It’s OK. Plain, but it’ll do, I guess. I think you should name her Natasha – we can call her “Little Z”.

    We havn’t picked out a boys name yet I’m leaning toward Mark Paul.

    Mark Paul? Oh Lord – lean the other way. Of course, I can tell Paul you named the middle name after him – he’d believe it and be thrilled. He’s just fucking gullible like that.

    But Luke and Mark sounds funny together – like they should throw on turbans and start wandering in the desert looking for the other 10 guys.

    I dont think i’m going to have a shower this time since i just had one a few years ago

    So? Is there a limit on the number of showers you can have in 5 years? The shit you got last time is old and used. And they’ve come out with new shit. And what if this one is a girl? You didn’t get crap for a girl at the other shower.

    I say cash in.

    I’ll have to make you some homemade goodies and head over for a chat sometime.

    Yeah, I’m thinking that would be like a really good idea. I’m “leaning” towards brownies.

    But don’t even walk outside while there’s ice on the ground. I’m thinking you should stay indoors until the snow melts. Don’t even go to work.

    Fuck. Something ELSE for me to worry about.

    Kim

  19. Val Dalton said

    Anna is a family name. Scott’s grandmothers name and my great grandmothers.
    Paul is a family name too it’s scott’s dad’s name. But you could tell Paul it’s after him lol

    Omg there was this poor girl in Dr’s office the other day who had a 1 year old girl, a 2 year old boy and was having twins!! She was all by herself with the 2 lil ones trying to go in to her check up. It was kind of sad.

  20. Gail said

    Thank God you are amongst the living!

    The sweaters are absolutely beautiful! There should be a law against someone being SO talented.

    Take care of yourself and feel better soon.

    Gail

  21. mbmb said

    Kim,

    It’s so good to have you back! I swear I would check here at least twice a day for some word from you. You have to know all your readers really worry about you. But, you are back and I’m grateful for that.

    I love, love, love, the sweaters you knitted in your downtime. I know I have told you this before, but you are so talented. It would have taken me at least 6 months to do one of those sweaters. You kick butt, girl. And, I mean that in the best way!

    I enjoyed the youtube video. I take it was from American Idol. I never watch that show, but I loved that song & whoever was singing it.

    Take care and be sure to let us know what happens with your Doctor’s appointment.

    Mary Beth

  22. mclayton said

    Really glad to know you are okay, best of luck with the upcoming appointments. You were missed!!!

  23. Caroline said

    So GLAD and HAPPY to see you are back and it was only a computer malfunction that was preventing you from posting!! We don’t need any more health problems.

    That computer guy sounds whacked…Taking Good Friday off?!! Even in days gone by you only got a half-day off to attend Mass AND hit the bar. Perhaps there is a local IT guy or gal who moonlights as a cpu repairman? Maybe your Chamber of Commerce friend can help you locate someone. He just sounds really lazy, is he old and semi-retired or does he have Maloneitis?

    Anyway, it’s great to have you back. Did you hear the latest Spector news? The defense put a motion forth that the judge who presided in the first trial was prejudised against Spector and must step down for the next trial. He promptly smacked them down, setting the stage for a hopeful successful guilty verdict for Phil.

    The sweaters are absolutly beautiful!! Amazing colors! Just like the lilacs and azaleas blooming in my garden right now.

    So glad to have you back, you have brightened up a bleak day.

  24. nita said

    Kim, good to see you back. I just KNEW it had to be your computer guy. I’m lucky that my computer guy lives in my house or I’d be up ‘its creek! Wish I could ship him to you from time to time.

    I admire your knitting and the outfits are absolutely gorgeous. I know how much work it takes, and more than a ton of talent.

    Hope all goes well with you at the Dr.’s tomorrow. It may take a bit of tweaking, but I’m sending your doctor my best vibes so he/she gets it right to make you better.

  25. gary said

    glad you are well. hope everything is o’kay with your health. glad you are getting to your doctor appointments. i know how shitty your transportation situation usually is. hang in there.
    glad to see you back online.

  26. Cathy said

    Yay! She’s back!
    Damned computer guy! Doesn’t he know you have people worried about you??
    The sweaters are simply gorgeous. I wish I’d paid more attention to my grandma when she’d take the time to knit.
    Here’s hoping your darn doctor gets it right soon.

Leave a Reply

 
