The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,321 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

So I Won’t Ask Paul to Hang a Shelf Again…..

Posted by thedarwinexception on February 25, 2008

 So remember when I was SO HAPPY because Paul was making me a shelf for my books in the sewing room.

Ummmmmm……….yeah.

So Paul actually goes into the sewing room, sees that I have……….slightly more fabric than he thought I had, and that was the end of the simple book shelf.

He tore the fucking place apart and decided he was going to do a flat out Trading Spaces thing on the sewing room – I wasn’t allowed to “look” until it was done and he was ready to make the “big reveal”. And just my luck he would be channeling Hildy, of course.

It’s a good thing that “don’t look until I’m done” thing didn’t last because he STILL isn’t done in the sewing room – and it’s still torn apart and I’m getting more and more nervous. I don’t LIKE the fact that my yarn is all over the fucking place. I don’t like the fact that my fabric is STILL piled on the couch and on the stands and on the floor and on the cabinets. He’s been dragging cabinets upstairs from the Harley barn and moving shit around and doing the whole “I don’t like this here – it will be better over here” and nailing and sanding and sawing and God knows what else.

He finally allowed me to go in and see what he had been up to when he hung the cabinets on the wall over the window and wanted my opinion. I don’t know if I like them, but at this point I don’t want to say “change that” because who knows when the fuck it will ever get done if I start rearranging his rearranging?? I’m thinking saying that I hate ANYTHING at this point will be quite counter productive and will lead to the place being torn apart for God knows how long.

And he moved my main sewing table up against the wall – which I really hate. Paul has this “thing” that he likes all the furniture to be up against the wall – so I’ll have more “floor space”. What the hell do I need “floor space” for – It’s not as if I’m playing fucking Matchbox Racetracks on the floor in there – I need more WALL SPACE. And I hate the whole “wall to wall furniture” look. Paul says it’s “ok” in a workshop, and that since I basically have a “workshop” going on, that it’s perfectly fine – but I hate it. I liked the way the table was turned sideways and I had all the wall space around it.

This way – with the table turned sideways and lengthwise in the room with my pattern holders underneath and my cutting table on the pattern holders. I like this. It makes the sewing table look more like a “worktable” than just a “table”.

And how wistful am I – seeing the sewing room all put together. All I wanted was a simple bookshelf. That’s it – nothing more, just a simple fucking bookshelf. I GOT the simple bookshelf – yeah, EVENTUALLY he hung the bookshelf. But it isn’t even the nice double decker shelf he started making me – no, that’s now a vertical shelf that’s holding (some) fabric. I got a single layer bookshelf hung on the wall, with the double decker one to the left of it – but the double decker thing IS holding all my new fabric I got in the mail, so I like it.

 

And the double decker vertical shelf is floor to ceiling – so I like that, too. And my spool rack and scissor board are underneath the new shelf, with the old Spartan sewing machine on the shelf in betwen the knitting books and the sewing books.

But I also had this in the rest of the room all day Saturday and Sunday – so, really, does the bookshelf really matter?

I hate my sewing room being torn apart. I hate it. But, it does look a little better now, although I’m still convinced that the main sewing table should be turned the way it was before. Paul says no, that it’s better up against the wall the way it is now – like this.

I don’t like it – wall to wall furniture.

But I do like the two bookshelves that used to hold yarn being used to hold fabric. It’s so much easier to find something now – I have the tall floor to ceiling double decker shelf, I have the cutting table/kitchen cabinet thing we bought full of fabric, and now these two bookshelves full of fabric.

The yarn is now all in the Rubbermaid tote things and in two overhead shelves Paul hung over the window. Which, I’m not sure if I like the shelves hung over the window, but I just need the room to be done, so I’m not going to offer an opinion.

 

The one thing I like is that I am starting to organize the yarn – see how all the creams and whites are together – and the blues are getting to the point where they are together? I plan on doing that with all the yarn. It will be easier to find it. So I like that. But I’m quite sure I don’t like the main sewing table up against the wall the way it is.

But, whatever, as long as Paul finishes it I don’t give a shit.

26 Responses to “So I Won’t Ask Paul to Hang a Shelf Again…..”

  1. Beth said

    You are nuts! I lost it at “channeling Hildy”! He is a good man, a keeper! Can you possibly pull the sewing machine out a few inches? Hope you are feeling better after your recent bouts.

  2. mbmb said

    Either you are nuts or you are an organizing saint! Really Kim, You and Paul have done a beautiful job of organizing your whole collection of yarn and material. My God…if I could get my DH off his chair for more than 2 minutes I would be thankful. I keep going back and looking at the photos, and thinking…OH WOW!

    I’m sending this to my daughter-in-law, because she loves sewing. You will be an inspiration to her. Either that or she will think I’m meddling???? But, either way you and Paul did a great job!

  3. Sandy said

    Well, he tried and he really, really meant well. Obviously very proud of himself and should be…taking such good care of you. A lot of work went into getting all done.

    Matchbox racing….you just never stop.

    That was a lot going on in a short period of time. I like the tall cabinet. A few more of those on a wall with your table horizontal would work great. Hang in there and get a feel for it. You’re going to be looking for lost stuff now that it is organized and will think up new ideas.

    I’m sure Paul knows at some point you will be moving stuff around. Wait for a while until he gets busy doing something in his barn or is just gone someplace. Of course this should only be done after you are “healthy” again.

    Did you know a women invented the scroll saw? She was sewing one day and realized the same technique could be used for sawing wood. Bet her husband had glazed eyes listening to the idea…and woodworkers never have their table saws, etc. up against a wall. Ask Paul where his is when using it.

  4. Veronique said

    I think Paul did a great job. And when he’s finished, you can move the damn table back the way you like it (I agree with you, I’d also rather have access to both sides of the table; while the sewing room is a workroom, it’s a different kind of workroom than a carpentry shop.)

    V.

  5. Greg Smith said

    Yee gawd Kim — what do you do with all those scissors?

  6. Gail said

    I’m with Greg; what in the world do you do with all those scissors! Are you collecting them?

    Paul is a keeper!

  7. Marie Martinek said

    Tell Paul that you need to get to both sides of the table, rather than having to lean over from one side, for pinning and layout and just for sewing — when you’re making the prom dress, you’re going to be sewing really long seams in vast lengths of fabric; it needs to be able to puddle off the other side of the table, rather than bunch up against the wall.

    He’s a real dynamo, once he gets a bee in his bonnet. I like using the idea of using the space above the windows (I’ve got an above-the-window shelf in my kitchen for big stockpots). If your problem is that you can’t reach stuff there, get either a folding stepladder or one of those extendible grabbies. Stepladder is probably better; the thing you want is *always* at the bottom or middle of the pile, and trying to get just that one causes a stuffalance. And you have to pull out the stepladder anyway to put it all back.

  8. Oh my!!!! PAUL ABSOLUTELY ROCKS!!!

    But I agree…move the damn table back the way you had it…it’s definitely better the old way.

    What’s Paul doing next weekend? I would so love me some shelving! LOL

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  9. luvgabe said

    Wow! You must be the object of envy of all sewers—professional & amateur—in the world. I would love to have a sewing room like yours! That Paul is a gem 🙂

  10. I like the tall cabinet. A few more of those on a wall with your table horizontal would work great.

    Yeah, that’s what I’m thinking. If I turned the table out the way it was, I could have *another* of those tall floor to ceiling cabinets along the wall – that would be awesome. Then some of the fabric that’s stuffed into the kitchen cabinet thing could be put in there. I really like the fabrics to be organized in such a way that I know where everything is – when I think “Hmmmm…I should make a pair of those monkey pj’s out of the brushed flannel” I can actually *SEE* where the monkey brushed flannel is.

    That would be a tremendous amount easier than having a “stuffalanche” (I LOVE that word), when I pull everything out of the kitchen cabinet thing to find the monkey flannel.

    Kim

  11. Yee gawd Kim — what do you do with all those scissors?

    Hey – all of those scissors are necessary. These aren’t *all* of the ones I have – I also have a drawer full of scissors that have been replaced by new scissors – but these are the ones I use most often. And they are all necessary.

    Sewing scissors aren’t just your ordinary household scissors – although I do have a couple pairs of those for cutting out patterns (never use your good scissors to cut paper – that’s heresy), But sewing scissors have definite purposes and then each purpose scissor comes in different sizes.

    I have a couple pairs of small embroidery scissors for cutting threads while sewing – you need small scissors to get in small places. Then I have pinking shears in three or four different sizes for cutting out general fabric, then there are scissors for cutting knits (thinner and longer than other scissors) in a couple of sizes. Then there are the heavy duty scissors for cutting denim, a couple buttonhole scissors (they don’t open all the way – they open way up from the handle and are used to open out buttonholes. Then I have a couple of pairs of left handed scissors that I use when I’m cutting out something and can’t move the fabric around too much and it’s easier to cut with my left hand.

    Then we have the electric scissors, the rotary cutters, the spring loaded scissors and the Fiskars Micro tip scissors. And my really good “flannel and heavier cotton” scissors, which I use the most of all of them.

    So see, it’s not abby normal to have so many scissors. You need to.

    Kim

  12. when you’re making the prom dress, you’re going to be sewing really long seams in vast lengths of fabric; it needs to be able to puddle off the other side of the table, rather than bunch up against the wall.

    That’s the best excuse yet for moving the table the way it was – and it has the advantage of being true!

    If your problem is that you can’t reach stuff there, get either a folding stepladder or one of those extendible grabbies.

    Yeah, I’m definitely going to need a ladder to get up there – I realized that when I went to try and organize the yarn by color -I couldn’t get anywhere near the yarn without a stepladder. But, we have a few of them around here – I was thinking of covering it in fabric – make it look cute. Then Paul wouldn’t be tempted to take it back out into the Harley barn.

    Kim

  13. What’s Paul doing next weekend? I would so love me some shelving! LOL

    Are you prepared for him to rip your entire room apart and re-organize it?

    I was thinking of telling him I needed a shelf in the kitchen – maybe he would organize the cupboards – that I wouldn’t mind so much.

    Kim

  14. HT said

    OK, I’ll tell you why I’m a loss for words. I look at these pictures and I go blank. I can’t relate to thread, scissors, fabric, yarn or patterns. But you made me laugh out loud when you said you weren’t racing Matchbox cars. I will say this much for your “Work Room”. You have more inventory than what I saw at JoAnn Fabric store in Toledo, swear to God. And I loved what your boys said to Paul about the mother’s ring. Way funny.

    And my phone is ringing off the hook too. I’ve talked with Bill and Hillary and Obama but they never answer me….what’s that all about?

    HT

  15. skweekie said

    I still don’t have a good feeling about all those scissors. Too easy to grab one and …..

    Damn. I’ve been watching too many horror movies.

  16. HT said

    KP,

    Chelsea called last night and invited me to the Student Union at Univ of Toledo. I assume it was a rally for HC and not for pizza because the meeting time was 10:15 this morning. If one of Obama’s kids calls and wants me meet them at Chuckie Cheese, I think I’ll go.

    Can’t wait for March 4th.

    HT

  17. luvgabe said

    Sorry to nag, Kim. Have you seen your regular doc in Vermont about the Hi BP?

  18. Sprocket said

    Tell Paul, “Thanks dear for the new shelving and reorganization, but you don’t work in here; I do!

    Pull that forkin’ sewing table away from the wall, and put it in the middle of the room where you can see the door. No ‘efing way can I sew lookin’ at a blank wall, or even a decorated wall. That would drive me absolutely bonkers. I need to be able to look up, and see everything around me. See the space; see the stuff on the walls, look at projects yet to do, look out a window. Besides, you need a nice free space for your fabric to drop down.

    On the other hand, be grateful you HAVE a sewing room to work in. I’m going on FOUR YEARS sewing in my living room and no sewing room, so I am envious that you even have a room.

  19. NJGill said

    you can decorate with the scissors, too:

  20. Lisa said

    Man you are so organized!

    I tagged you for a meme which you will find on my blog. I thought you would have some interesting things to share. Hope I did this right. It’s my first meme.

  21. mbmb said

    Hey Kim,

    We’re worried about you. What’s going on?

  22. Mindy said

    OK Kim, Where are you? We miss you, give us an update on your Status. I may not have left a reply lately, but that does not mean I am not checking in on your blog. I love your BLOG and want to know what’s up.

  23. Bahamamama said

    Soooo..after all this time of not posting, do you suppose Kim has finally killed Paul for messing with her room and she’s the one now in the State Pen????

  24. skweekie said

    I’m getting worried.

  25. Tazzie said

    I don’t know about the rest of you, but I am getting very worried about Kim. I wish someone from Malone would find out what’s up and post it here for us. I mean Christian won Project Runway and not a word about it here. Cause for concern for sure.

  26. LLMG said

    Wow-I can relate on so many levels-both people. Put a man and a woman together with different ideas let alone how each want the completed project to look and or function. My guess that was not communicated. Sounds like a simple shelf was all that was wanted.What was the motivation to do more? Was it heart felt? To please? In all the reconstruction was it ever communicated how the room would function for the person using it?Did it it matter? I hope this was not only a learning process for the two of you but a growing process. You can each take away some valuable lessons from this project on how to communicate. Rest assured if you keep at it, by God’s grace it will only strengthen and improve your communication and relational skills with one another. Take it from someone who has been at for twenty-six years and still counting and growing. God bless.

Leave a Reply

 
