The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,745 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Marketing, Custard and Books

Posted by thedarwinexception on February 23, 2008

 So what’s up?

Not much new here – I’ve been knitting, still working on the Rainbow Matinee Jacket from Shifio. I completed the body and am now adding the colored ruffles. I LOVE adding the colored ruffles! I love this pattern and I love the sweater. Val needs to hurry up and have a girl!

And I’m enjoying the fact that the Today show was in Vermont this week – at Sugarbush Ski resort.

And that leads to a great example of what I am bitching about when I talk about Malone.The Today show did wonderful vignettes on different aspects of working and living in Vermont, with a heavy emphasis on the ski resort they were based at.Now Malone is not Stowe – or Warren. Although when you get right down to it – why not? The only difference between the two places is the separation of a Lake. Malone has the same topographical layout as Stowe – the same seasons, the same Maple trees, and the same *potential*. And we have Titus Mountain – right up the road from me.Matt and the gang from the Today show pointed out that on any given day during the ski season, Sugarbush attracts up to 10,000 skiers – per DAY. 10K skiers at Titus mountain in a *SEASON* would be far beyond anything they’ve ever seen before.

And during the show this morning – after throwing out that little statistic, they went to a commercial break – where there was a local ad for none other than Titus Mountain.

The ad had a voice over – which said “Come to Titus – for an UNCROWDED skiing experience.”

Paul and I both looked at each other and about fell out laughing. Leave it to Malone to promote their ski area by saying “Come here – Nobody else does!”

Silly.

Leslie the Chamber of Commerce lady needs to go to Titus Mountain and pitch them a marketing campaign.

But not until I’m ready to let her go from dragging my ass all over Malone – which she does on a regular basis. Nice of her, huh? And it’s not like she isn’t totally busy with three kids and a job. She’s too nice.

Tomorrow I might have some new pictures for you. I’m sending Paul over to Zombie lady’s house to see how it’s faring. Just to make sure that the ceilings haven’t caved in or something. I figure, hey, if *our* pipes froze twice this year and we have HEAT – her pipes have to be downright fucking shattered by now.

I do hope she comes back soon, though. I miss her silly ass.

And guess what I’ve been busy eating? Something I got in the mail. Something I’ve been craving.

Yup – I got custard in the mail. Custard in the fucking MAIL. Can you believe it???? I’ve eaten bowls and bowls of custard (with nutmeg – of course). I’ve made a custard pie (with graham cracker crust – mmmmmmmmm), and I made a banana custard pie (heavenly). I shall NEVER be tired of eating custard. Custard is food of the Gods.

But I can’t believe I got custard in the mail.

And now I am on a knitting kick again. I am buying up knitting books cheap at AbeBooks and Blogistics. I am *trying* to get all the Debbie Bliss knitting books and the Stitch n Bitch books. Oh – and Kafee Fassett’s books. A friend sent me a Fassett book last year for my birthday and I *LOVE* the patterns. Just gorgeous – so I’m buying some of the older titles.

But that means I now have more books – enough to justify a bookshelf – which means I need more space in the God Damned sewing room again. Because there is NO ROOM for another bookshelf.

So Paul is right now making me a long shelf to go across the top of the room. He had to empty one of the cabinets that holds my “cut this shit into quilting squares” fabric. This is what it looks like on the couch. And this is just the “scrap fabric”.

For the love of God and all that’s holy. When does this become an obsession?

Paul has decided to institute a “Ban on Joann’s”. He does that every time I ask him to go in the sewing room and he sees how much shit I have in there. But, again, he says that I can buy no more fabric until some of this is gone. Of course, he doesn’t understand how fabric works – or yarn, for that matter. I can’t get it through his head that you can never have enough fabric or enough yarn. But, then again, I can’t get it through MY head that there isn’t enough room in this house to hold all my fabric and yarn and have it ORGANIZED NICELY so that when I do go to make something or knit something I don’t go and buy more fabric or yarn because it’s easier than looking through the stash I have. That’s a real problem.

But – he’s making me a long shelf with two levels. I can use the bottom shelf for some of my new fabric I got in the mail last week – Which I STILL LOVE and marvel at every single day – and the top shelf can be for all my new knitting books and the knitting and sewing books I already have that were just mixed in with all my other books.

And, of course, the “Ban on Joann’s” will last about as long at it takes for them to have a sale and me to get there for it. I was there last week for their pattern sale and I bought like 50 new patterns –  and I bought a rotary cutter. I’ve wanted one for a long, long time and it was 50% off last week – so I got one for like $5.00. Now I want a self healing mat for it. I love the rotary cutter.

So, who is watching “Lost” – were you totally taken aback by the “reveal” at the end of the last episode or did you see it coming. And who was sitting there saying “yeah, right” through the totally unrealistic courtroom scenes?  In what world does a person get tried in California for a murder they committed in Iowa? And in what world does a character witness for the defense testify before the prosecution presents its case? I was bitching so much about those scenes that when they got to the final one I wasn’t really listening and I thought she said the kid’s name was “Eric” – so I lost the whole point of it.

Stupid courtroom scenes. Made me bitch the whole rest of the show.

And who is watching “American Idol?” Were you happy with the first eliminations – or were you disappointed that Chickeze and that rocker chick didn’t go home, like I was? I hate that rocker chick. Fucking hate her. Now watch her win – HA! But if I have to listen to her scream the rest of the season I’ll hunt her down and strangle her.

Stupid Janis Joplin wannabe. I hate screamers. I like that guy with the dreadlocks. He’s cute and I like his voice.

Now he’ll be the next to go.

I can’t win.

 

 


 

17 Responses to “Marketing, Custard and Books”

  1. zoomcity said

    Oh, YAY! I hate the rocker chick, too! No Way she will win. She was in the bottom three in a week that was tailor-made for her pony of a single trick. You have made my day.

    I like Dreadlock dude, too. :o)

  2. Greg Smith said

    Gotta buy your prom dress fabric at Jo-Ann;s — it’s in the rules.

  3. Gotta buy your prom dress fabric at Jo-Ann;s — it’s in the rules.

    Yeah, I know, that’s why I said I might as well enter – I would have made her a prom dress, anyway, and really, what choice do I have around here *except* to buy the material at Joann’s?

    I mean, for some fabrics I’ll buy online – but you can’t really buy *this* fabric online unless you have a really good reliable source and know exactly what color and shade and material you want – which I really won’t know unless and until I can hold it and feel it and see it drape.

    So – since my choices are pretty much Joanne’s or Wal Mart – and then Wal Mart only if it’s a cheap polyester I want – I might as well go to Joannes and keep the receipt and send it in along with the pictures.

    Kim

  4. NJGill said

    Stupid Janis Joplin wannabe. I hate screamers.

    make up your mind!

    * I got a sweater for Christmas. I really wanted a screamer or a
    moaner.*

  5. HT said

    Yo,

    I’ve missed you and that’s all I’m going to say.

    HT

  6. Leslie said

    Stupid Janis Joplin wannabe. I hate screamers. I like that guy with the dreadlocks. He’s cute and I like his voice.

    Ok- I was going to say something about you wanting a screamer or a moaner for Christmas, but someone beat me to it.
    By the way, I’m only nice to you because I like you and you entertain me with your wit and sarcasm, plus you’re faster than speedy gonzales. :>)

  7. Sandy said

    You are my morning coffee. So great you brewed up another cup. Miss knowing how ZL is and tis’ time for her to be with you having a cup of coffee..or whatever the stuff is she drinks.

    So, a peek into what Paul can do. You have been hiding him more than we realize. How wonderful he created a way to indulge you. If you put wooden curtain rods under the storage he is building, more fabric could be folded over the rods. And I think he should build these around your entire room, great job he’s done.

    Before I moved to a smaller home, my addiction was upholstery fabric. My car didn’t even need to be driven to the outlet visited weekly, it knew the way by osmosis. Was so hard to let the fabric go. The gal I gifted it to made rugs from all. I was so ticked and would never have given her the fabric if known. All those wonderful colors, textures and patterns. And she couldn’t think of anything else to do but cut it up for rugs.

    Am watching AI too. I really like the cute little dark headed kid, hoping he does something beyond anyone’s expectations. Was surprised the orange suit guy didn’t go, and the elvis and the “screamer”. She had some controversy this last week due to her having a previous recording contract and CDs. Apparently this has been let go for letting her go. The curly haired kid was a surprise oust, but wondering if enough people had had it with too much hair from last year. Notice….I can’t remember anyone’s names at this point.

    I read rumblings about the Aron baby, they better have a good reason for this one and why she is so secretive about it. Also why she is living in such a huge house with a nanny. Am so lost as to who is good or bad. Was she bad, sold her soul to Ben and is married to him? Or Hurly, he has money. Can’t be, he’s in the hospital with ZL. Actually, I read and watch spoilers and know a bit about the baby, but there is never a full synopsis to answer all the questions still hanging around. Actually create more of a mystery and interesting to find out how they are translated into a show. I didn’t get into the court stuff, maybe due to the irratic process you mentioned. Couldn’t figure out how they just let her go based on what was presented. There is so much information I’m LOST. And I can’t turn away from this show.

    Chuckled over the ski resort promo. Are you the only one with a working brain in Malone?

  8. Gail said

    Kim,

    I’m SO glad you are writing again! I’ve missed you! Can’t wait for ZL to come back to Malone;I miss her, too.

    Take good care of yourself!

  9. NJGill said

    Tomorrow I might have some new pictures for you. I’m sending Paul over to Zombie lady’s house to see how it’s faring. Just to make sure that the ceilings haven’t caved in or something. I figure, hey, if *our* pipes froze twice this year and we have HEAT – her pipes have to be downright fucking shattered by now.

    I do hope she comes back soon, though. I miss her silly ass.

    Are you sure she’s still in NY, and not in TX? http://www.boingboing.net/2008/02/23/zombies-in-tx-on-nig.html

  10. Can I borrow Paul? I need some neat shelving like that!

    Great rotary cutters…the same one I use and love!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  11. Val Dalton said

    I would love to have a little girl, my house has to much testosterone right now! 🙂 Perhaps when she got old enough you could teach her how to sew, cause I am useless when it comes to that stuff. But give me a checkbook to balanace and I can do it with my eyes closed 🙂

  12. Niner said

    Hi Kim!
    Just wanted you to know – I’ve really enjoyed keeping up with the people of Malone – and YOU of course!! Wondering if you’ve heard anything ZL?? Is she going to come back to the house next door?? or stay in New York?
    Per my notes – Spector is supposed to be in court March 7th – no idea WHAT that might be for – just have it marked on my calendar!
    Take care, Kim! Don’t stress out tooooo much now!

  13. Dana said

    I think I understand about the fabric, ’cause I’m that way about cookbooks. I have three 5-shelf bookcases crammed with ’em, a smaller built-in book case in the kitchen, and a whole counter top taken up with them. And I have some that don’t have a home currently, ’cause I’m out of space. Do I have enough cookbooks? Of course not! They’re not just there to cook out of. They’re there to give me ideas, and just to make me happy, and to make sure that if some day I *do* want to try cooking something classically French, or an austerity dish from the war days in England, or whatever, I know where to start.

    Fortunately, Rick has never suggested I should stop buying cookbooks till I’ve cooked at least one recipe out of each of the books I’ve already got.

  14. * I got a sweater for Christmas. I really wanted a screamer or a moaner.*

    Too funny – I just changed that, too. Now it’s

    * I’ll be so glad when the elections are finally over. That way when the phone rings I’ll know it’s just bill collectors.*

    Kim

  15. By the way, I’m only nice to you because I like you and you entertain me with your wit and sarcasm, plus you’re faster than speedy gonzales. :>)

    I’m only fast because I HATE shopping. I muse be low on estrogen or something, because I hate all that girly shit that girls usually like. I hate shoes – I only own 2 pair and I’ve had those forever. I hate clothes, and buying clothes and having clothes, I hate shopping, especially that “lounge shopping” where you just wander from store to store browsing through shit. Know what you want, get in the store, get what the fuck you need and get out. And for the love of God don’t stop and try shit on.

    I hate getting flowers, I think that’s a big fat waste of money. The worst thing Paul could ever buy me is roses – I’d kill him. Do you know how much clearance fabric you can buy at Joann’s for the cost of a dozen roses? Or jewelry – I hate jewelry. I think that’s a waste of money, too. “Diamonds are a girl’s best friend?” Not this girl. But an Amazon gift certificate – well, that’s a close friend.

    One year for Christmas my boys were talking with Paul about what to get me. Paul told them that he wanted to get me a “mother’s ring”. My boys looked at him funny and finally my youngest said to him “Why are you getting her that? Is she getting you something you will hate, too?”

    Kim

  16. I’ve missed you and that’s all I’m going to say.

    Oh, come on, you can say more than that.

    Kim

  17. I think I understand about the fabric, ’cause I’m that way about cookbooks.

    I have a couple of shelves of cookbooks under the island in the kitchen. Mostly they are yours (HA!) and a bunch of really old ones that were my grandmother’s. I never think to look in them, though. I’m sure there are a bunch of great ideas in them, but cooking just doesn’t inspire me – Top Chef does, but that wears off really quickly. Probably around the time I realize it’s time to make supper and I don’t have the energy to try some kind of balsamic reduction.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

 
