The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,323 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Kmart is Lost in Space – but my Computer Isn’t

Posted by thedarwinexception on December 8, 2007

 WELL THANK GOD!!!!!

The computer is FINALLY FIXED.

I brought it in this morning and the computer guy installed a new video card (WHILE I WAITED). I brought it home, fired up “The Sims” – which is a great test, since the computer IMMEDIATELY crashed when I tried to play that game over the last few weeks when I was having the intermittent “OK, I’m crashing now” problems.

But this time, with the new video card, Sims ran just fine. Must be fixed, right?

Now I am hoping that this little incident will convince the computer guy that maybe I know what the fuck I’m talking about when I diagnose some problem I am having, and that maybe he won’t try to just update drivers and tell me “Yup – that was it – good to go!” If he had listened to me the FIRST time I brought this thing in, it would have saved me two weeks of cursing and cussing and bitching. Ok, I probably would have found a reason to do that ANYWAY, I mean, I do live with Paul, but, I wouldn’t have had to compound the cursing and bitching by focusing it on the computer, too.

I am so happy!!! The laptop is back in the sewing room, where it belongs, along with *another* new shelf for yarn. Which is now full. That makes 2 bookshelf’s, 8 of those Rubbermaid plastic bins, a cabinet and another 4 shelf unit FULL of yarn. I’m thinking I need a yarn room along with my sewing room and my computer room.

And I went and got “Lost Season 3” last night at Wal Mart. I was happy to discover that the edition sold at Wal Mart includes an extra bonus DVD. I haven’t watched it yet, since I’ve been busy with reorganizing the sewing room and bringing the computer in and then checking it out, but I am going to get my knitting, sit down and enjoy a marathon any minute now.

Of course, as is true with most things in my life, getting the Lost DVD wasn’t without it’s WTF? moment. I called Kmart to see if they had the DVD in stock and what the price was. I got the girl at the service desk, who transferred me to the electronics department. The kid that picked up the phone was about as bright as a dim fucking light bulb.

Kim: “Hi! Lost Season 3 DVD came out today – can you tell me if you have it in stock and what the price is?

Dim Bulb: “Ummm….Lost 3?”

Kim: “Lost, Season 3, DVD – green cover – came out today.”

Dim Bulb: “Ummmm…Ok, I’ll check, one minute.”

[Put on hold, 5 minutes of really bad Christmas muzak.]

Dim Bulb: “Ummmm….yeah, I don’t see Lost Season 3 – but I have “Lost in Space!”

Kim: “Ok, yeah, because *that’s* the same fucking thing!”

So I went to Wal Mart. Where the price was $44.96, despite the fact that on the Wal Mart website the price is shown as $39.96. Why do they do that?

In the meantime, even though Paul and I don’t celebrate Christmas, I’m thinking Milo and Holly do – or are at the least expecting Santa to bring them stockings – or maybe they are just ready for their reindeer auditions.

20 Responses to “Kmart is Lost in Space – but my Computer Isn’t”

  1. Caroline said

    Kim, Your doggies are ADORABLE!!

    BYI-I just got back from Kmart, and I think they must give potential employees an IQ test that they have to flunk before they hired. Today was a BIG day for our suburban Kmart. All of the big wigs were in for an inspection/visit. How did I know this? Because for the very first time in 15 years the store was clean, all of the merchandise was folded and the racks didn’t have a bunch of clothing on the floor!! The idiots who worked there did not know what aisle the Christmas Cards were in, the location of the public restroom and some cheerful and vacant young man asked me if I was ready to pay for my purchases when I had an empty cart! You’d think with all of the extra attention I would have left with a smile, but no, they didn’t put the Christmas Cards in the bag. So now I have to drive all of the way back to suburbia to get my cards….and some antlers for my dog!

  2. HT said

    OK, gotta catch up. Back in cold ass Toledo. Yesterday it was 70 degrees in Portsmouth, right Buckeye Belle?

    I FINALLY got to see the infamous pictures. I was feeling so deprived and out of the circle. Well, she DOES have a thing for Van Gogh. Her cupboard looks like “Starry, starry night”. In an odd way, it’s sort of cool. But then I’m not much of an art critic. I went through the Louvre in Paris in about 2 hours.

    BUT you didn’t answer my VIP question. Is the toilet frozen? I’m very concerned where she goes to the bathroom. PLEASE answer ASAP.

    You know, I was expecting much worse for some reason. Maybe your camera just takes good pictures. Just kidding. Don’t you hate it when people say that? “Hey, these pictures are good; what kind of camera do you have?” Asshole, I’m a photographer. That’s why the pictures are good.
    I was in a juried art exhibit and all people asked was what kind of camera I used. But I digress.

    Love, love the pictures of the pups. I wish I could send you the picture I took of Whispurr with her little green John Deere hat on. I think you would laugh. You know how cats can look so disgusted; well, she has that look in the picture.

    Praise Be Buddah! Your computer is fixed. And you have Lost 3. Things are really going your way this week.

    I’m sending you a check for GRID. Isn’t Natasha due back like soon? Are you for sure going to pay the bill? What if she flips out having electricity? I know it’s a risk but all things considered, a good one.

    HT

  3. Leslie said

    You know, you talk about Val having multiple jobs, but what about you? Not only do you blog to keep your fans entertained, you blog about trials, you knit, you sew, you take care of two dogs and a husband, you worry about your neighbor and various other duties. Where do you find time? Thanks for sharing yourself :>)

  4. Que Barbara said

    How goes the situation with Holly the Horse and her eating problem?

  5. Buckeye Belle said

    Yeppers, beautiful day here in Appyville yesterday. The bad part was I got stuck inside all day at work, which was the ONLY day this week I scheduled appointments. {groan}

    Love the reindeer doggie pics, Kim! How the heck did you get them to sit still with those antlers on?

  6. Val Dalton said

    I love the pics to the puppies! Holly actually held still long enough for you to take her picture? I’m surprised at that one.

    To answer the question above about Zombie ladies toilet. The bathroom was off of the “Starry Night Kitchen” but there was so much junk I dont think we could have gotten in there without moving it. She had a protable toilet still in the box in the middle of the kitchen. I would have no idea where she goes to the bathroom. My guess is outside? She also had a really nice natural gas space heater, the one that vents to the OUTSIDE, still in the box. However i’m not sure if i say any natural gas tanks outside her house.

    Is she home yet kim?

  7. some cheerful and vacant young man asked me if I was ready to pay for my purchases when I had an empty cart!

    That was funny.

    I hate when they do that – stand at the end of the checkout and say “Are you ready?” when you walk by. Dude, I’ve been in a store before, I’m fairly well acquainted with the procedure. When I’m done, I’ll find the fucking checkout – really, I will.

    Kim

  8. I wish I could send you the picture I took of Whispurr with her little green John Deere hat on. I think you would laugh. You know how cats can look so disgusted; well, she has that look in the picture.

    You can send it to me in email!

    Isn’t Natasha due back like soon? Are you for sure going to pay the bill? What if she flips out having electricity?

    Well, she’s due back any time. Yes, I am paying the bill – Friday when I have a little bit more money. They want a $100 deposit on top of the bill. I can’t blame them, but…

    And I do have a feeling she’s going to flip out with electricity. But that’s too bad. If she’s really upset, I’ll just tell her they came and said they made a mistake turning it off so they just turned it back on again – I won’t tell her I had anything to do with it.

    Kim

  9. You know, you talk about Val having multiple jobs, but what about you?

    Yeah, but the things I do, I do for fun. Val has like real life responsibilities. Important ones. And she handles them all beautifully. I’m very, very fond of her. And she is so impressive to me.

    It’s not very often anymore that I see young women such as herself take on all those responsibilities and carry them off. Most of the young women I see don’t graduate from high school, get pregnant shortly after, then sit around collecting money and expect that the state has to support them and reward them based on the fact that they have this special and unique ability to reproduce.

    And I’m even more proud of Val because I just found out that one of the young girls around here that I was SO trying to talk to and SO trying to encourage to have a world view OUTSIDE of Malone, and SO trying to encourage to go to college or have ambition just got pregnant. FUCK. I’m so upset. She’s 16, has a boyfriend who doesn’t work, and I doubt he’ll even remember what she looks like in 10 years, let alone be around for the kid.

    So, she’s already applying for medicaid and welfare. There goes another one.

    Kim

  10. How goes the situation with Holly the Horse and her eating problem?

    Holly still chews anything and everything she can get in her mouth – even things she can’t really get in her mouth – like windowsills.

    Paul is trying to work with her, but she’s just so fucking stupid. I think she has some sort of learning disability. He has taught her to sit and shake and sometimes when he says “lay down” she’ll actually lay down. And Paul taught her this really cute trick of “sneak”. He’ll get her to lay down, then (usually for a treat) he’ll say “sneak Holly, Sneak” and she’ll crawl on her belly over to him to get the treat. It’s kind of funny.

    But she IS a very sweet dog and she really loves to be with people and get attention and to play and cuddle – it’s just that she’s so rambunctious and excitable and she’s so BIG and CLUMSY. She’ll knock the couch over trying to get to you if you come up the stairs.

    When she’s calmed down and not being so stupid, though, she’s a really nice girl.

    Kim

  11. How the heck did you get them to sit still with those antlers on?

    What you can’t see is that I am over Paul’s shoulder in the Holly picture – he is giving her a treat. That’s the only guaranteed way to make her sit for any length of time.

    With Milo – you can put anything on him – he doesn’t care. He’s used to me dressing him up in shirts and sweaters and jackets and funny bunny ears and boots and putting him in strollers and backpacks and slings and carriers – he just takes it, it doesn’t bother him. He just has the attitude of “Yeah, what the fuck ever – she’s acting goofy again, let her have her fun.”

    Kim

  12. Is she home yet kim?

    NO!! I’m starting to get a little concern. Someone said in comments that she could very well be atranded in NYC with no money, if something happened at the bank or she couldn’t get her issues there resolved, and I’m hoping that’s not the case.

    Every time the dogs bark I look out the window hoping it’s her. They’ll bark if she walks by.

    But, I’m kind of glad she’s not back yet, in a way, National Grid said it will take 24-48 hours to turnt he lights on, and I want them on BEFORE she comes home.

    Otherwise, I’ll have to intercept the National Grid guy and have him make up some story about why they are getting turned back on – that they made a mistake or something.
    I don’t want him telling her “Oh, yeah, your neighbor paid the bill.”

    Kim

  13. Sandy said

    Your Holly looks like my Alee. Alee is a mix of Rhodisian Ridgeback and somthing else. The Ridgeback part was a challenge as they will go so far as getting into cupboards. She is 10 yrs, 100 pounds, a big wonderful dog with aching joints.

    Holly sounds like she is actually doing quite well with the commands Paul has taught her. Think of her as one of those 16yr olds who listen to nothing and possible questionable brain cells. But you actually have control over Holly as she matures. Hang in there, time will reward all. I’m so glad you kept her. But with all read, that is exactly what you would do.

    Thanks for the update on ZL. Yes, am worried a bit about her. Am sure many of us will help you out when the plan is in process.

    I’d love to see other’s animal pics.

  14. skweekie said

    Kim, I don’t know alot about electricity, but do you think someone with some knowledge ought to check out the wiring before they turn the electricty back on. What if she has done something like fool with the circuit breaker panel or removed or damaged some wiring. Would that cause a fire hazard when it comes back on?

  15. skweekie said

    P.S. What kind of furnace does she have? Electric or gas? What happens when the electricity comes back on? Do you need to restart the furnace, or re-light the pilot light?

  16. Leslie said

    “It’s not very often anymore that I see young women such as herself take on all those responsibilities and carry them off. Most of the young women I see don’t graduate from high school, get pregnant shortly after, then sit around collecting money and expect that the state has to support them and reward them based on the fact that they have this special and unique ability to reproduce. ”

    I believe that all women young or old should be entirely entitled to a supportive family (I don’t mean financial) and a wonderful husband with fatherly instincts. The world and Malone would be a better place.

  17. Veronique said

    If the 16 year old just got pregnant, it’s not too late for an abortion.

    V.

  18. Leslie said

    Kim- Gracie (19 months) loves to lok at your dogs- She waved and talked at them through her binky- Perhaps you should have a pet gallery?

  19. Leslie said

    sorry- look :>)

  20. abarclay12 said

    Those dogs are the best. And it really seems that they’re impressed with themselves wearing those hats.

    I hope you have a good christmas and that you don’t have any more computer dilemmas. I hate it when I have computer issues – very frustrating.

Leave a Reply

 
