The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,482 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Random Holiday/Christmas Questions

Posted by thedarwinexception on December 3, 2007

OK – Now you are all going to answer questions!! Woo Hoo.  Just write the number, you don’t have to copy the whole question, and then write your answer in the comments. I love these little random question sessions. And I’d like to know about everyone else’s Holiday traditions.

1. Is it just me or do you, too, hate those “bags” that everyone is giving gifts in now? I think it’s cheesy and shows that the person giving the gift was too lazy to wrap it right – with wrapping paper. Do you use these bags?

2. Is your Christmas tree real or artificial?

3. When do you generally put the tree up and take it down?

4. The only time I drink alcohol of any kind is the few weeks between Thanksgiving and Christmas when egg nog is available in the grocery store. Then I go through a bunch of egg nog and a bunch of rum. Someone told me about  the egg nog ice cream a while back, and now my “drink of choice” is a scoop of egg nog ice cream, with rum and eggnog poured over it. Do you like egg nog? Is there some special food or drink that you only have during the holiday season and never have the rest of the year?

5. What is the best gift you received when you were a kid?

6. Who are your hardest and easiest people to buy for? What are you planning on giving them this year?

7. Do you send out Christmas cards? Is it permissible to email Christmas cards?

8. What is the worst Christmas preset you ever received?

9. What is your favorite holiday movie? What is the holiday movie that makes you turn the channel if it’s on TV?

10. Are you more of a person that’s done Christmas shopping by Halloween, or are you one of the people in the stores the night before Christmas starting your shopping?

11. Have you ever “re-gifted” a Christmas present? What was it?

12. Do you decorate your tree with clear lights or colored lights? And do you throw the tinsel on the tree or hang it strand by strand?

13. Do you travel at Christmas or do you stay home?

14. Top of the tree – angel, star, or something else?

15. Do you have a theme to your tree decorations? Or a “color” the tree is decorated in?

16. Do you open your presents Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?

17. What’s on the menu for Chirstmas dinner?

17. Besides lists of random questions asking about Christmas – what is the most annoying thing about the holidays?

18. What do you really hope Santa brings you for Christmas this year?

18 Responses to “Random Holiday/Christmas Questions”

  1. Leslie said

    1. I never use the bags for Christmas- Just birthdays.

    2. Artificial, because of the needles getting in the carpet- I love real trees, though.

    3. I put the tree up on on Thanksgiving and take it down around Jan 5.

    4. I used to like eggnog(non alcohol) when I was a kid. Now I don’t like it. One food I make only on holidays is deviled eggs.

    5. Favorite gift ever? My Def Lepard album when I was 13- Pyromania.

    6. My hardest to shop for is my brother, the easiest are my children.This year I’m getting nothing for my brother. My oldest is getting Ghosthunters- Seasons 1,2,3 on DVD, Pirates of the Carribean 3, and a gift certificate to get her hair done. My middle daughter is getting a digital camera and money for clothes, baby girl is getting a new doll, lego blocks and Good Night Moon, because her first one is torn up.

    7. I stopped sending Christmas cards about 5 years ago. I’d rather just call people.

    8. A vacuum cleaner from my ex husband which I was certain was a new typewriter. Too bad for him.

    9. A Christmas Story is my favorite because I still laugh until I cry. It’s a Wonderful Life makes me turn the channel.

    10. I wait until the last minute to shop because I hate shopping.

    11. Never regifted.

    12. I use colored lights- I don’t use tinsel because of the carpet, the cats and the baby, but if I did, I would throw it on in globs because I have no patience.

    13. I stay home at Christmas.

    14. I put either a star or an angel on the top of the tree.

    15. No theme for my tree except homemade ornaments my kids have made.

    16. Usually Christmas eve we open gifts, but I’ve been known to not be able to wait. One time we did Christmas 3 days earlier.

    17. Menu for Christmas- Ham with bone in (pea soup later), boiled potatoes and homemade ham gravy, deviled eggs, green bean casserole, fruit salad with whip cream.

    17. The most annoying thing about Christmas: The expense.

    18. Peace is what I want for Christmas.

  2. 2. Artificial, because of the needles getting in the carpet- I love real trees, though.

    See, that’s why I don’t put up a tree now. I hate the needles, and I don’t especially like artificial trees either. I have 2 or 3 of the huge artificial trees – I was thinking of freecycling them. I can’t see a time when I’ll ever use them again.

    4. I used to like eggnog(non alcohol) when I was a kid. Now I don’t like it. One food I make only on holidays is deviled eggs.

    I make deviled eggs on Thanksgiving and Christmas. But on Thanksgiving I always forget to sprinkle Paprika on them, and since I forge then, it reminds me to do it at Christmas.

    6. My hardest to shop for is my brother, the easiest are my children.This year I’m getting nothing for my brother. My oldest is getting Ghosthunters- Seasons 1,2,3 on DVD, Pirates of the Carribean 3, and a gift certificate to get her hair done. My middle daughter is getting a digital camera and money for clothes, baby girl is getting a new doll, lego blocks and Good Night Moon, because her first one is torn up.

    I want a gift certificate to get my hair done! Sounds like the girls will have a nice Christmas.

    9. A Christmas Story is my favorite because I still laugh until I cry. It’s a Wonderful Life makes me turn the channel.

    I love It’s a Wonderful Life. I have it on DVD. I have A Christmas Story, too.

    17. The most annoying thing about Christmas: The expense.

    When my kids were little, I was horrible at Christmastime – I would literally spend thousands of dollars on their gifts. Now, I don’t buy anything for anyone. Paul and I stopped exchanging gifts just because it was stupid – we buy what we want when we want it, so there was no point in saving what we wanted for some special day. Now if we feel like buying something for Christmas we adopt a family, or buy a bunch of toys for the toys for tots barrel.

    18. Peace is what I want for Christmas.

    Oh shut up. There isn’t some computer thing you want, or a book or movie or some nice sweater or something for the house? Don’t waste your Christmas wishes on stupid cliches. Let the president wish for peace – that’s his job – I want the Lost Season 3 DVD.

    Kim

  3. Greg Smith said

    5. For several Christmases my favorite was a “Life Savers Sweet Storybook.” That was a cardboard holder printed to look like a book which held 10 or 12 rolls of lifesaver candies. That was the most candy I’d ever get at once and I loved trying to make them last.

    7. I haven’t sent cards in several years. I do respond to some cards by sending an individually written email. I don’t think email cards are a good idea and I never open them myself.

    13. We stay home where we are comfortable. A couple of years we tried going on road trips to avoid having to attend Christmas parties. That’s okay if you make the trip before Christmas and check out on Christmas day. Places get busy after that.

    17. It’s annoying to have what is a Christian holy day thrown in your face for a month and have to fake a bit of conviviality about it.

  4. Great questions Kim!

    1. Is it just me or do you, too, hate those “bags” that everyone is giving gifts in now? I think it’s cheesy and shows that the person giving the gift was too lazy to wrap it right – with wrapping paper. Do you use these bags? Not a big fan of bags…unless I’m pressed for time with last-minute gifts.

    2. Is your Christmas tree real or artificial? Fake…but VERY realistic looking with a zillion lights.

    3. When do you generally put the tree up and take it down? Usually around Thanksgiving I put it up and then take it down on January 6th (which I believe is Little Christmas).

    4. The only time I drink alcohol of any kind is the few weeks between Thanksgiving and Christmas when egg nog is available in the grocery store. Then I go through a bunch of egg nog and a bunch of rum. Someone told me about the egg nog ice cream a while back, and now my “drink of choice” is a scoop of egg nog ice cream, with rum and eggnog poured over it. Do you like egg nog? Is there some special food or drink that you only have during the holiday season and never have the rest of the year? I love eggnog but usually don’t have it with alcohol. However, I’m definitely going to try it with your little recipe.

    5. What is the best gift you received when you were a kid? My life-size rubber Gumby doll.

    6. Who are your hardest and easiest people to buy for? What are you planning on giving them this year? My Father…have no idea what to get him this year…he has everything and uses nothing.

    7. Do you send out Christmas cards? Is it permissible to email Christmas cards? I send out Christmas professional photo cards. Email is a big no-no.

    8. What is the worst Christmas preset you ever received? A neon and black parachute material sweatsuit from my DH when we were first dating.

    9. What is your favorite holiday movie? What is the holiday movie that makes you turn the channel if it’s on TV? A Wonderful Life and Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Xmas. I turn off the tv when I see Charlie Brown’s Christmas.

    10. Are you more of a person that’s done Christmas shopping by Halloween, or are you one of the people in the stores the night before Christmas starting your shopping? My DH doesn’t give me my xmas shopping money until the day after Thanksgiving (Black Friday) as I spend a fortune and keep spending until they throw me out of the store on Christmas Eve…LOL.

    11. Have you ever “re-gifted” a Christmas present? What was it? Never have.

    12. Do you decorate your tree with clear lights or colored lights? And do you throw the tinsel on the tree or hang it strand by strand? Only clear lights…I can’t stand multi-colored blinking lights. My tree is color-coordinated to match my home. Almost everything on my tree is made by me…I take great pride in my tree…LOL!

    13. Do you travel at Christmas or do you stay home? Stay home and host the holiday dinner for 15 – 40 people.

    14. Top of the tree – angel, star, or something else? Vintage Angel I got from my beloved MIL years back (the thing has to be from when they invented electricity, I swear).

    15. Do you have a theme to your tree decorations? Or a “color” the tree is decorated in? Theme is mostly angels and pears. Color is pink, lavendar, and aqua with a touch of gold.

    16. Do you open your presents Christmas Eve or Christmas morning? Open one on xmas eve and the rest xmas morning.

    17. What’s on the menu for Chirstmas dinner? Lobster Tails stuffed with Crabmeat, Filet Mignon with carmelized onions, Linguine with Calamari sauce, Homemade Salted Mozzarella, Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail, Imported Proscuitto, Sharp Provolone, Marinated Mushrooms, Baked Clams, and a ton of other goodies.

    17. Besides lists of random questions asking about Christmas – what is the most annoying thing about the holidays? having to search endlessly for high-priced items (such as Wiis).

    18. What do you really hope Santa brings you for Christmas this year? Since DH already got me a new computer this week, perhaps I’ll take a TOL color laser jet, too!

    Happy Holidays!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  5. Holy Toledo said

    1. Xmas Bags – I will resist until I use up all the stupid wrapping paper I’ve hoarded for years then maybe but probably not.

    2. Heaven forbid – The tree must be real. My cat agrees.

    3. I cut my own tree and put it up right after TG and take it down right after New Year’s Day. By then the needles are on the floor and I more or less sweep it up and shove the rest out the door.

    4. Egg Nog, yummy. I just bought a bottle that has whiskey in it, like 15%. I plan to get ripped.

    5. Best Gift. I was 11 and wanted a bike forever and got a 3 speed English bike with hand brakes.

    6. I don’t know anyone who is hard to buy for really. Easiest is myself and I do buy for myself so I’m sure to get what I want.

    7. I send out real cards. Did you get yours yet? I guess email cards are OK but not really.

    8. I don’t have any favorite holiday movies although I like the one with Chevy Chase and his stupid brother, Eddie.

    9. I shop all the time.

    10. I really don’t like the idea of a re-gift. But I have given things away that I don’t want but that’s tricky too.

    11. I think I’m already out of sync with the damn numbers.

    12. I use clear lights.

    13. I stay at home, thank God.

    14. There’s gold star on the tree.

    15. I don’t know if it’s a theme but I have a lot of little cutesy sweaters, mittens, socks and old fashioned looking ornaments. Also, people have bought me a number of cat ornaments. I also have several specialty ornaments by Hallmark; my favorite one is a miniature old fashion radio that says something like “This is a holiday message – it’s almost time for Santa – hang up your sock” or something equally stupid.

    16. Open presents both Eve and Day

    17. Baked ham, cheesy potatoes, 7 layer salad and maybe some other stuff.

    18. Annoying thing – questionnaires.

    19. Where did I go wrong? Who cares. I have pretty much everything I want. Well, there is something but I don’t want to admit it.

    HT

    7.

  6. noorbe said

    1. I don’t use those bags, They’re expensive.
    One year a girlfriend gave me a present in one of those bags, I saved it an wrapped her present in it the following year, we’ve been going back and forward with that same bag for years now. This year it’s her turn to use it again.

    2. Artificial, and I hate it, it was in the basement for 3 years, this year I decided to bring it up, I remember now why it was in the basement for all those years, it’s too big.
    I love the fact that I don’t have to worry about watering, the cats love the tree, and found one of them in the top the other morning!

    3. We put the tree up the first weekend in december and take it down the day after New Years day.

    4. I hate egg nog, just give me a glass of chardonnay, and I’m happy.

    5. A baby doll when I was 5 years old, I still have it.

    6. My husband is getting a guitar kit, he wants to built one, some clothes, and 2 music DVD, by Eric Clapton and Santana, My oldest daughter just bought a new house, we secretly took a pic, and now my husband, who’s a painter, is making a watercolor of the house, she’s also getting a “Lampeberger lamp”, they are awesome, my other daughter just moved into a new apartment, so I’m bought fabric that she picked out and now I’m making all the valences, pillows, duvet cover, futon cover, and she is getting a toaster oven, My son is the hardest to buy for, I bought him some nice clothes at the Limited, and some silly games.
    My two granddaughters are getting an easel, and clogs. They’re the hottest thing according to their mom, they’re the “winter” clogs, nicely lined with flannel.

    7. We sent Christmas cards, I think E-mail X-mas cards are tacky.
    We get one every year from a long lost friend, and it’s like reading their diary from the previous year.

    8. A real ugly cloth purse, my ex mother in law bought that one for me.

    9. No favorite holiday movie.

    10. This year I’m all done, except for some sewing.
    That’s early for me, usually I go shopping the monday morning before Christmas.

    11. I have never “re-gifted” a Christmas present?

    12. Clear lights. No tinsel on the tree in this house.

    13. We stay home, thank you.

    14. A beautiful bow.

    15. Last year at Target I saw this huge box with like 1000 coordinating decorations in there.
    They wanted a 100 bucks or so, I waited till it went on sale after X-mas, and got the whole box for 30 bucks.
    It’s looks fantastic.
    I gave all my old decorations to my daughter.
    So now, if I go to her place, it’s like coming home. 🙂

    16. It depends, this year it’s Christmas Eve.

    17. scrimp, 8 layer mexican dip, cheeses, crackers, Heavenly Ham, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, vegetable medley, bread, Cesar salad, pumpkin pie, apple pie and cheesecake……….

    17. Too many people all over the place.
    I HATE shopping.

    18.What do you really hope Santa brings you for Christmas this year?
    Hmmm, I have everything I need or want, really, I do.
    I want my family to be with me on Christmas Eve.
    I think I will get a couple of good books, that are on my wishlist.

  7. Sandy said

    I wasn’t going to answer the questions, but interesting take from other posters. And some thinking at my end regarding Christmas.

    1. Yes bags and apologies. I got tired of buying enough paper, running out, then having too much and next finding a place to keep the overflow. At one time all wrapping would “match”, as time went on it seemed no one else got it but me. Kids favorite Christmas was when I saved all the Sunday comics for a year and wrapped every present with them.

    2/3. Have 3 skinny woodland trees (artificial) with white lights. Leave them up through winter along with antique snow shoes, sled, etc. Sort of a decorative theme deal.

    4. Never liked eggnog. But your eggnog float sounds like a worthy choice and may have to try it. Only time I drink is when I’m really feeling down a couple of times a year and head out for a bottle of wine. Which sounds like a deal right now.

    5. Always the filled stockings.

    6/10. We quit giving presents except for immediate family. And those are given during the year when something comes up that they really want. I have become a non shopper and hate the stores during the holidays.

    7. No cards sent for years. Nor do I get any, except from my insurance agents. Will call those loved.

    8. A doll’s baby buggy when I was 6. I so wanted a pedal fire engine. Never did tell my parents this.

    9. A Christmas Story. And Michael…no Christmas but he’s my favorite angel.

    11. Never

    12. When I had trees, they were real and sometimes cut in the forest. Always had the big old, many colored lights. Tinsel was carefully added…I loved tinsel.

    13. Stay home. But there were some pretty bad family events that made me swear I would head for another country during Christmas. Or lie and say I was out of town.

    14. Both depending upon the year.

    15. Tons of memories. Have given the kids all the ornaments.

    16/17. Christmas Eve. Christmas morning is for the little guys. MY family is scattered, extended, and way over scheduled. We no longer have dinners or celebrations together (reason I hesitated to answer the list). It became far too difficult to arrange without someone having issues of who to visit, how many dinners in one day, ect. I miss the event, but know the little ones are enjoying all without the stress of over planning. Always had turkey, etc.

    17. Messing up the numbers of a random questionaire? I really get tired of the “happy” ads on TV and want to know who is getting all those diamonds. Gads, am sounding like the Grinch. Also, that everything shuts down. Any planning for activities outside of the holiday doesn’t exist from Thanksgiving to New Years.

    18. If one of you sees him, please let him know I want a handyman that knows what they are doing and help me finish this remodeling muck I’m into. Oh, and tell the guy to bring that bottle of wine I decided was a great idea.

    Merry Christmas Kim, your DH, friends and all your posters.

  8. 1. I use the bags sometimes, with matching tissue and a bow on the handle. Believe me, it’s not cheaper than wrapping paper. I mostly use the bags for oddly-shaped items that I don’t have a box for.

    2. Non-existent.

    3. See item 2.

    4. I’m neutral on eggnog. The holiday special food is candy canes.

    5. The big deluxe chemistry set.

    6. Hardest is my husband (used to be my mother), easiest is our god-kids and my husband’s family. My gift to my husband is that I’m absolutely not knitting him a sweater. Most of the family will get money, except for our niece, who will get an Amazon gift certificate because she’s almost as bad as I am about books.

    7. We don’t do Christmas cards at all, but this year I’m going to have to write notes to everyone who hasn’t heard of my mother’s death and has sent her a card. I’m not looking forward to this.

    8. I don’t think I’ve ever gotten a bad gift. Maybe gifts I haven’t used much, but nothing bad.

    9. None.

    10. I’m in-between, but it’s not like writing a few checks is exactly shopping.

    11. Never as a formal wrapped-up gift, but I have occasionally passed something that I’ve been given onto someone else who really coveted it.

    12. See item 2.

    13. We stay home.

    14. See item 2.

    15. See item 2.

    16. Christmas morning, unless I can talk my husband into doing it earlier.

    17. Maybe New York steak and baked potatoes and cheesecake.

    17. They’re in the middle of winter and the days are too short. Also, I get a little tired of seeing the same ads over and over again, except for the Clydesdale ones.

    18. Nothing, really, except maybe a buyer for my mother’s house.

  9. Sandy said

    I forgot to mention what was originally on my mind answering these questions. Far from the Grinch, every year my daughter and I get together for a day of whipping up fudge, butter brickle and devinity. All goes in those “bags” mentioned. We take a day to deliver our goodies to neighbors and friends.

  10. Leslie said

    18. Peace is what I want for Christmas.

    Oh shut up. There isn’t some computer thing you want, or a book or movie or some nice sweater or something for the house? Don’t waste your Christmas wishes on stupid cliches. Let the president wish for peace – that’s his job – I want the Lost Season 3 DVD.

    Kim

    Okay- What I meant to say is Peace in MY life, a day that I don’t have to worry about something or other. If I were materialistic, I’d want a bunch of new books, a laptop for work, all of my favorite movies on DVD since the VCR quit and 7 new sweaters, one for each day of the week. How’s That?

  11. Sea said

    1. I do use gift bags as a.)I can’t wrap worth a darn and b.)I have so many pets that their hair always gets stuck in the scotch tape – not terribly attractive!

    2. Artificial tree

    3. Tree goes up the first week of December and comes down the week after New Year’s.

    4. I love spiced hot apple cider and usually this is the only time of year I have it. Smells heavenly too!

    5. A mood ring from my aunt. She always knew what kids wanted and gave the best gifts!

    6. The boss is the hardest person to buy for – they are getting a Yankee Candle gift set. Easiest is the hubby – he’s getting a new MP3 player and the obligatory sweaters…

    7. I send out Christmas cards and only e-mail cards to those I know just casually from online.

    8. Can’t remember anything truly awful.

    9. Favorite movie: Just about any version of A Christmas Carol. Turn the channel:Home Alone

    10. I usually do my shopping in November.

    11. I know I have, but can’t remember what it was!

    12. Clear lights on the tree and no tinsel (the cats get into it)

    13. Stay home

    14. Top of the tree – red bow

    15. Do you have a theme to your tree decorations? Sounds hideous, but it is pretty much red, clear and blue ornaments

    16. Christmas morning

    17. Smithfield ham

    17. Dumb holiday commercials

    18. A clean house!

    Happy Holidays!

  12. Kim (Canada) said

    Awesome questions – Let’s see now…

    1. Gift bags – I use them, but I use them to put the wrapped presents into. Whether to carry, or to fluff up with tissue paper and give more work for the person to open and get to their gift…

    2. Artificial tree – Looks really “REAL” without the mess and fuss with continuous watering…

    3. Tree goes up Dec. 1st and usually comes down Dec. 26th. Will go to Jan. 1st (Maximum) if I’m entertaining guests in Christmas fashion beyond the 26th…

    4. I love Egg Nog – But only at Christmas and it must have an ounce or two of SPICED Rum. Family tradition is a huge simmering pot of apple cider on the stove – I don’t much like that, but I do enjoy the instant(Individual Packets) Cran-apple cider kind with (again) a shot or two of Spiced Rum.

    5. Still have the photos – I got a brand new hi-fi (ok, so HI-FI for that time) stereo system that played vinyl records and eight trak cassettes. Think I was 12-13 and I cried like a baby. Totally over-whelmed that I’d gotten it, and surprised because it wasn’t what I had asked for – Would never of dreamed of asking for something so big and expensive…

    6. Hardest to buy for is my mom. For this year I’ve gotten her a Christmas Old Man Santa riding a hand made wooden sleigh. The clothes are made out of really cool wool fabric pieces, and his face and features are almost real looking. The sleigh is made out of small branches and comes complete with bells, a lantern and carries a small Christmas tree on the back. Santa has his sac filled with some toys and the whole thing together looks really, really wild – Realistic but only about a foot and a half in stature – Think she gonna love it!
    Easiest? My girlfriend! I love her, love everything about her, and so I buy everything and anything that reminds me of her, or that I know she will fall in love with.

    7. Yes, I still send cards. Not as many as I used to, but there are still some that I insist on sending a card to. More so my friends and family in Montreal, but there are a few here in Ontario that I don’t get to see so I send a card. The rest get email Christmas cards – So yes, internet e-card greetings are ok where I come from…

    8. I was 11 years old…
    Step-grandmother brought me a flannel nightgown that was two sizes too small and she had addressed the card to “KAREN”….

    9. Rudolph the red-nosed Reindeer is my ultimate favourite – It’s a Wonderful Life makes me cringe and/or fall asleep…

    10. Usually leave my shopping to the last minute – This year I started early and I am almost done at this point. Feels good and I don’t have to deal with the angry, bitter “rushers”…

    11. Unfortunately I have re-gifted. I am an absolute “Dove” baby, like everything un-scented and someone had given me Bodyshop soaps and shit. Sorry, no can do so I gave it to someone else – Gotta tell ya! They loved it!!! LOL!

    12. Currently my tree has various coloured lights – Eventually my tree will have only one colour – Not sure if that will be blue or white – Where tinsel is concerned, don’t do it! Not agreeable or safe for my kitty-cat…

    13. Used to always travel to Montreal for Christmas’ as a youngster – Since my Grandmother died 20 years, that diminished and so now we stay home and travel to visit family in Montreal other times during the year…

    14. Usually an angel – One day it will be a dolphin, or a lighthouse…

    15. My current tree has various colours and holds all the ornaments I’ve collected since childhood – I love it, but I am working on having my tree all done in blues and silver with nautical decorations – Saw awesome Christmas balls with lighthouses, ships and dolphins the other day and so that’s what I’m working on for the next Christmas that I host – Not my turn this year and I need to collect some more…

    16. As a child my mom woke us up at midnight to open – I still open up now at midnight but save one for morning because my girlfirend’s holiday tradition is to open in the morning – She likes my tradition lots (lol) but we’re about compromising and so we save one for morn…

    17. a)Turkey and all the fixin’s, including (not heated) Cranberry Jelly from the can…LOL!

    17. b)Can’t stand the crowds – Especially the rude “me-first” people…

    18. I’m not sure what I really want, but I do hope Santa can assist “ZL” in figuring out the heat-thing, and well, I guess he could bring me a new car…

    All the best to all,
    Fonzie

  13. Buckeye Belle said

    1. Gift bags only for odd shaped items. A big part of my Christmas enjoyment is making fancy bows to put on gifts. For larger odd shaped gifts I use garbage/leaf bags and paint on holly leaves & berries, poinsettias, etc. with permanent markers, then tie the top with a large bow. Those are placed in the back of the tree and mostly hidden by the smaller gifts.
    2. Artificial trees. Daughter is allergic to real ones.
    3. Tree(s) put up when I can talk hubby into climbing into the garage attic to get them. Goal is December 1st, but sometimes it is December 15th before the urge hits him….or I threaten to hit him if he doesn’t get moving.
    4. Love eggnog regardless of how it is served. We have our traditional family secret punch only during our big family party on Christmas Eve. The basic recipe includes burgundy, brandy, oranges studded with whole cloves, brown sugar, and cinnamon sticks which are placed in a large kettle over low heat. Now here is the secret part ….. nobody knows the complete recipe, or even if there is one! Throughout the evening everyone ladles out small sips and decides what they want to add to make it better. It could be more or different spices, rum, vodka, bourbon, fruit juice, and we highly suspect one year someone slipped some moonshine in it. This IS Appyville, ya know! For some strange reason, the punch is taste tested so much while perfecting the recipe that by the time it would be poured into the fancy punch bowl there is none left! While the recipe was still once again not perfected, all agree that it is the best so ever. 😀
    5. Best gift was a green and white Huffy bicycle.
    6. Easiest to buy for is my daughter. Gift cards always make her happy and that is what she prefers. I do, however, give her a piece of my artwork that I have done. This year I did a charcoal drawing of Vivien Leigh as Scarlett O’Hara to place with the one I did a few years ago of Clark Gable as Rhett Butler. Most difficult is my eight year old granddaughter who already has more than ten little girls could ever want, so I am giving her my piano and will pay for lessons for a year.
    7. Have not mailed out Christmas cards for many years. All the people I would send a card to are on the Net, so I design personalized PDF format cards with graphics and music to send via e-mail. Lots of good feedback so I presume folks enjoy them.
    8. Worst Christmas present is anything my cheap ass sister gives to me. She goes to the Dollar Store to do her shopping then gives me what she has left over, usually something broken or what she knows she can’t pawn off on anyone else.
    9. Favorite movie is National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation with Chevy Chase. I even enjoy watching it in July! Least favorite is the Charlie Brown movie.
    10. Usually start Christmas shopping in August or September but sometimes have to come up with a last minute gift. One more gift for hubby and that will finish me up this year.
    11. Nope, never re-gifted. Probably should save all the junk from cheap ass sister and give it back to her the next year, though.
    12. Big tree decorated with colored lights. Pencil tree with clear lights. No tinsel on either because it is a pain in the butt to put on and take off. My favorite is the table top fiber optic one that changes colors. I am easily entertained. 🙂
    13. Only travel 10 miles to daughter’s house on Christmas Eve for the big family party.
    14. Tree topper changes from year to year …. just whatever suits my fancy at the time.
    15. Same as #14.
    16. Some gifts opened on Christmas Eve at the family party. The rest opened at our house on Christmas Day with hubby, daughter and granddaughter.
    17. Baked ham with pineapple, escalloped potatoes, baked beans, deviled eggs, green bean casserole, pecan pie, and apple pie per daughter’s request every year.
    18. Most annoying thing ….. shopping in stores. Hate it! Do 95% of my shopping online. Hooray for the Internet!!!
    19. Santa Hubby has my list so I better get what I want. Very limited as to what shoes I can wear after breaking and dislocating my ankle two years ago, and he has the link to the ones I can wear so all he has to do is get online and order them. Need remind him that time is growing short. He is such a procrastinator. Would never have Christmas if it was left up to him.

  14. luvgabe said

    1. I’ve used some bags only because I’m reusing those that my best friend has given me.

    2. Artificial: the same one that we’ve been using for the last 30 years. So that makes it good for the environment!

    3. A few days before Christmas; take down by New Year’s.

    4. Don’t like taste of eggnog.

    5. The one & only time my parents gave us a Christmas gift: a bag of sundry food items.

    6. Hardest person is my husband because if we need/want something, we buy it. We’ve stopped giving each other presents for a couple of years now. Instead, we give a big donation to animal charities & to our church.

    7. Yes, I still send real paper Christmas cards!

    8. Don’t remember. It’s not important.

    9. It’s a Wonderful Life.

    10. Neither: I have my shopping done a couple of weeks before Christmas.

    11. I’ve “re-gifted” a sleeping shirt I had bought for myself.

    12. Colored lights; we hang each tinsel up strand by strand.

    13. We most definitely stay home.

    14. An angel.

    15. No theme: we just put up all the assorted “baubles” (many of which are not actually baubles) we’ve collected over the years.

    16. Christmas Eve.

    17. Don’t know yet.

    18. (a) The “buy, buy, buy” consumerism: We Americans really should try to transcend our terribly wasteful materialism, both for the environment & also because this is NOT what Christmas, the celebration of the birth of Christ, is about!

    19. I hope to receive divine guidance for my professional direction, esp. which of 3 possible book ideas to next write.

    A Joyous Christmas to Kim, Paul, the Zombie Lady, & all the readers of Kim’s marvellous blog!!

  15. Debi said

    1. no bags – always wrap. When the kids were smaller, their presents from santa were wrapped in paper that was hidden all year, and nothing else ever got wrapped in it so they wouldn’t get suspicious. Mom started that tradition, and all of us kids did it for our kids.

    2. artificial, although I love the real thing. My partner is allergic to the real ones.

    3. usually gets put up sometime in the first two weeks of Dec, taken down around Jan 5 or so

    4. WANT to like eggnog, but just don’t. I keep trying, though.

    5. a minibike when I was a kid – I cried when I got that thing.

    6. Hardest is my mom – she’s getting gift cards for her favorite restaurants this year. Easiest is my partner – we’re doing a homemade Christmas this year, so I made her an adirondack chair, a thing to hang on the wall that holds thread, a tuned set of windchimes, and a set of dominoes. Making dominoes is a bitch.

    7. I sometimes send cards out. Not usually, but I think this year I might. But I think that every year. Email cards are good, too – I like them.

    8. can’t think of any really horrible ones.

    9. favorite movie is A Christmas Story. Turn the channel if Jim Carey’s Grinch comes on. What a travesty.

    10. Started before Thanksgiving, and am almost done. I do most of it online, so I have to get done pretty soon.

    11. nope. Not opposed to it, I just never think about it.

    12. Always colored lights.

    13. always travel with my kids the four hours to my mom and dad’s, stay a few days after Christmas, then come back home and we celebrate with my partner and friends.

    14. top of the tree is a star

    15. no theme. Lots of homemade decorations.

    16. Christmas morning

    17. dad is making a smoked turkey breast, mom makes noodles, mashed potatoes, green beans, pecan pie, etc, etc…I don’t really cook, so I help mom. My sister and sis-in-law usually bring something, too.

    17. the stores putting up the decorations in October.

    18. I hope I get a set of stacked dado blades for my tablesaw. And I really want the economy in Michigan to turn around.

  16. Mizfitz said

    1. I hate the bags, but re-use them when I can. I like wrapping, & torturing the grandkids with layers and layers of duct tape, then pretty paper, and ribbon then bows.
    2.It’s a fake but everyone asks if it’s real. We heat with a woodstove, and the real ones didn’t last long enough.
    3. Put it up weekend after Thanksgiving, and take down on New Years Day generally with a huge hangover. Then when it’s time to pull all that shit out again, I can truly guage my hangover by how fucked up the organization of last year’s stuff was put away LOL. This year was pretty bad – shit everywhere (great NY Eve Party last year LMFAO)
    4. Eggnog is great with Southern Comfort. It’s the only way I drink it, but hey, I am southern. I am only good for a cup or 2 though. I’d rather just have some good sippin bourbon instead.
    5. It had to be the Easy Bake Oven – ate all the icing right out of the packs before my brothers could get to it!
    6. Hardest are my parents. This year I am getting them a gift card to the local grocery store. I’ll get them a month of food. They have everything to the point of overkill, but they are overwhelmed with prescriptions/costs, so this is something to help them make ends meet.
    7.Yes, I find the rudest, funniest I can. My MIL just called to say this year was the best – she is still laughing – did I mention I am a sick and demented woman LOL?
    8.Herpes
    9. Christmas Vacation – Chevy Chase, A Christmas Story is good also. I am burned out on Charlie Brown
    10. I shop only when I have to, and I wait till the mood strikes. I usually have to catch a buzz for that to happen, then I can’t go cause I have the buzz LOL – it’s a viscious circle.
    11. No, I don’t regift, unless someone can use it. I usually just chuck the shit I don’t like. It’s rare tho.
    12. Tree is in colored lights, and about 500 more than it should have. Chevy wishes LOL. All the other “in house” lights (garland everywhere – I deck my stinkin halls dammit) are in clear, with ribbons, pointsettias (sp – sorry)bows, ornaments, and all kinds of X-mas crap – very pretty
    13.Stay the fuck home
    14 Star on the tree
    15 It’s wide open – lots of homemade, lots of face ornaments, cute stuff for kids, pretty stuff – a great mix – lots for everyone. It takes me around 13-16 hours to do this damn tree.
    16. both – catch a buzz and talk my husband into opening “just one” and take it from there.
    17. Smoked Turkey and stuffing, husband cooks a big ass ham on the grill, sweet taters, mashed taters, greenbean casserole, mac and cheese, deviled eggs, some kind of jello salad, home made yeast rolls that take me all fuckin day (but are worth it) and on and on – we are pigs!!!!
    18 Sobriety for one of my kids.

  17. Amy said

    1. Bags can be nice when done right, but I don’t tend to use them for Christmas unless something is really oddly shaped and difficult to wrap.

    2. Fake and prelit. I hate putting lights on, and they never look right when I do it.

    3. We put ours up the weekend after T-day, and usually take it down right after New Years.

    4. Eggnog is nasty, no matter how much rum you add.

    5. I got a bike one year, and it was crazy warm in Indiana for December, like 70 degrees, so I was able to ride it when I got it, which was awesome. I couldn’t figure out how my parents arranged it. 🙂

    6. Step mothers are hard. We bought both of them photo printers at Costco this year.

    7. No.

    8. I’ve gotten some god-awful clothes.

    9. It’s A Wonderful Life. That Bad Santa with Billy Bob Thornton was horrible, but they don’t run it on TV because it was filthy, too.

    10. I aspire to be an early shopper, but it never happens. I buy all gifts between Thanksgiving and Christmas, although I collect ideas all year.

    11. Only for white elephant parties. Honestly, I can’t remember what they were, but it was one of those “bring something you have at home,” things…

    12. Clear. No tinsel because I don’t want to pull it out of the cat’s ass.

    13. This year we’ll be home for Xmas eve and morning, then we’re headed up home (90 minute drive) for a couple days. We’ll leave after lunch on Xmas.

    14. Star

    15. Our balls are all red white and blue, but it was totally by accident and we didn’t notice until the woman at Walmart pointed it out. Luckily those are just our “fill in the space” ornaments, and the good ones that we’ll keep forever are all colors, so it doesn’t look cheesy. I keep meaning to get some plain purple, green, etc. balls.

    16. One on Christmas eve, the rest Christmas morning.

    17. Mom’s cooking, I have no idea. Probably prime rib. Oh, and stuffed mushrooms, and my aunt’s “heart-attack” potatoes…

    17. The way it starts right after Labor day, now, so I’m sick of it by the time Christmas is actually here.

    18. New carpet.

  18. Raymond said

    1. Don’t care either way concerning the bags. Last year I wrapped all my gifts with pages from a ’79 porno-mag.
    2.My sister got me one of those Charlie Brown trees last year. Haven’t put it up this year.
    4. There’s a reason the gubbmint only allows this “liquid” to be sold three months out of the year. Nuff sed.
    5. A Spider-Man helicopter. I didn’t know either, but apparently he had one in 1977.
    9. “Bell, Book and Candle”—nothing says festive like a coven of witches and Jimmy Stewart.
    17. It feels like an Arby’s night.
    18. It isn’t out yet, but I really want the complete Dr. Katz box set.

Leave a Reply

 
