The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,886 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Deja Vu All Over Again

Posted by thedarwinexception on November 20, 2007

So what did I tell you? Huh? What did I tell you?

In the comments from yesterday I specifically predicted that in 30 days something PHYSICAL was going to fail and that THEN, maybe THEN, the computer guy would realize that “Drivers” was not my problem with the computer.

Well, I was right (again) – only it didn’t take 30 days – fuck, it didn’t even take 30 hours.

This morning as I was bopping along getting caught up on comments and email and deleting the messages in AFCA that I had read on the laptop, well, the computer went down AGAIN.

Drivers my ass.

So I called the computer guy back and said “any other ideas, fuckwad?” I told him AGAIN “Look I think this is the video card. I really do – the computer keeps running – there’s nothing wrong with it – just the signal to the monitor goes haywire – that sounds like the video card to me, it really does.” He says “Yeah that does sound like a video card issue – bring it in on Monday and I’ll check that out.”

And now I’m pissed. Because I TOLD the guy when I first called “I think it’s the video card”. You would THINK that maybe he would have checked the video card before sending it out the door with the lame ass conclusion that it was the drivers.

It really chaps my ass when people refuse to acknowledge that I AM ALWAYS RIGHT. And I’m pissed at myself for not going with what I knew was right, and refusing to accept the computer back until he actually fixed it. I knew it wasn’t a driver problem and I took the computer back ANYWAY. Stupid.

So, now I am back on the laptop. I can’t bring the desktop in until Monday, he’s “off” for Thursday and Friday, and he never works weekends – so I’m stuck for at least another two weeks on the laptop. Thank Groo again for the laptop, but it does suck that I won’t have my address book, and my games and my files for the next two weeks. If I had told the stupid computer guy “No, it’s NOT the drivers – trust me I AM ALWAYS RIGHT” – and MADE him test the video card or just put a new one in, since I am quite convinced that’s what it is – I would probably have the computer back actually WORKING by now.

Oh well, at least I got the pictures posted of the outfits, and managed to copy SOME of my emails over form one computer to the other before it started acting up again. And believe me, this time he WON’T get away with trying to blow smoke up my ass.

And I already told him he’s NOT getting another $25 dollars to fix it right this time.

7 Responses to “Deja Vu All Over Again”

  1. Gail said

    I’m surprised you don’t know you are always right, I know I am always right! :)—especially when it comes to a man—and especially especially when it is Mr. Gail! 😉

  2. Holy Toledo said

    OUCH, DAMMIT.

    HT

  3. I’m surprised you don’t know you are always right, I know I am always right!

    *I* Know I am always right – it’s just getting other people to believe it.

    And I’m quite convinced you are always right as well – and how long did it take you to train Mr. Gail into knowing you are always right?? It took a while with Paul – probably 3 years – he’s a slow learner.

    Kim

  4. mbmb said

    Tell your computer guy you have this huge blog audience waiting for your next posting. And, we are all going to be so pissed when we can’t see pictures of Zombie Lady on Thanksgiving Day. It’s was going to be our “Best Thanksgiving Ever”! I swear, some computer guys are so Lazy. And, why in the hell don’t they listen to us? Damn, it was good to see you back again.

    Love all the outfits you made for Val’s little one. Val and the little one are “Lucky Ducks”. Once again, you are very talented. Thanks for keeping us informed. Because personally, I was getting a little worried about you.

    Happy Thanksgiving to You, Paul, & Zombie Lady

  5. skweekie said

    I’ve been a regular reader since the start of the Spector trial, and I’ve read a good deal of your archived blogs. After careful consideration, I have to say that you have never been wrong.

  6. kaydaver said

    I, too, have been a regular reader of your blogs (and Sprocket’s) since the start of the Spector trial.

    Sorry about your computer woes. Try this – don’t talk to people like you know everything. Talk to them like English is their third language and/or they have “moron” tattooed across their forehead. You’ll be amazed how much better it works!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. elizabeth said

    I was sitting at my Thanksgiving dinner wondering how the hell yours was going!

    I love your writing, love hearing about the chaos and the comedy in your life and it is 100% apparent to me that you absolutely do know e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g…

Leave a Reply

 
