The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 969,342 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Back in Business

Posted by thedarwinexception on November 16, 2007

Well hallelujah and praise the Gods – I got my computer back! It’s amazing how big my monitor looks – and how quickly I got used to typing on the laptop keyboard. The one for the desktop seems foreign and strange now.  

No real explanation for what was wrong with the computer – the computer guy said it was “the video drivers”, which seems to be a rather dubious explanation, to me. I could understand the whole video card somehow shitting the bed – but the drivers? Those don’t wear out. How can the drivers just all of a sudden cause the whole computer to go flaky? That makes no sense.

And the computer guy checked my speakers – he said that it was because I put the volume control from the control panel on “mute”. And you know, I kind of sort of remember doing that for some reason, which seemed to be a good reason at the time. So there was nothing wrong with my speakers. And the DVD burner and the cd burner, which wouldn’t recognize my disks when I went to burn some picture files before I brought the computer in to be looked at, all checked out OK when he tried them,. too.

So, long and short of it all is I got the computer back and there’s nothing wrong with it, according to the computer guy. He updated some drivers, left it running, didn’t have the same shut down problem I had, and he pronounced it “working”. I have my doubts, but we shall see.

And I got a letter in the mail from PattyMac, the grandmother of Hobbes, who I made the hoodie for. She said everyone really loved the hoodie, and that her computer is down, which is why she hasn’t been around. She is hoping to get a new computer next week, so I’m crossing my fingers she can return soon. She sent along a picture of Hobbes, too, and he is absolutely beautiful.

So, now that I have my computer back I shall have a flurry of posts in the next few days. I have a bunch I had stored up and can now finish, since I have my files and my camera back. And today is the day I am going to go over and invite the zombie lady over for Thanksgiving. So if I’m not back in a bit – send help.

10 Responses to “Back in Business”

  1. Kim (Canada) said

    YEAH!!!!
    Glad to see you’re back – the “right” way!

    Haven’t been around much myself – Honestly, it’s because I was pissed off at “HT’s” comments a way back. It is 2007 afterall, and in this day and age, she was resembling a “misfit” after that comment….
    But screw her (no offense & not literally) I love and appreciate YOUR writing too much, and I can’t shake that damn crush I developed – I understand that she did “addendum” that comment, however, in my opinion she should have re-tracted it!

    So I’m glad that you’re up and functioning again, and as for me, I can’t keep away – So that should make you happy too!! (LOL)

    Good luck with ZL.
    You’ll have to, for sure, fill us in on the whole INVITE prodedure….
    Look forward to hearing ’bout it…

    Cheers!
    Fonzie :~)

  2. Holy Toledo said

    Oh, Lord, Fonzie. I was just kidding. Kim, tell her I was just kidding, would you?

    HT

  3. Sprocket said

    The video drivers are the key thing that communicates the processor to the screen. They are very specific to your computer and your screen. They are the key to making the display work. They can easily get messed up, by changing the display setting to something that’s not compatible. If they don’t work, the screen is dead and you can’t use your computer.

    Hope that helps.

  4. The video drivers are the key thing that communicates the processor to the screen. They are very specific to your computer and your screen. They are the key to making the display work. They can easily get messed up, by changing the display setting to something that’s not compatible. If they don’t work, the screen is dead and you can’t use your computer.

    I know all that – and I know what video drivers are, my confusion was in the fact that they worked fine for a year and then stopped working. I don’t see that happening. Way back when I was into IT and programming, drivers didn’t just “stop working” all of a sudden. Has that changed?

    Kim

  5. Sprocket said

    It could happen from a automatic software update that windows did or a virus. A virus could easily get in and mess up your drivers.

  6. It could happen from a automatic software update that windows did or a virus. A virus could easily get in and mess up your drivers.

    Maybe, but I don’t think so. The computer guy ran a complete virus scan and found nothing – I have Norton professional, AVG and Spybot that run continuously, so I’m sort of covered – although you can’t be 100% covered, I’m sure.

    And it doesn’t seem like virus “behavior” – what, change video drivers then leave? Ther ehasn’t been any other evidence of any kind of virus.

    And I don’t have anything set to do automatic downloads. Even windows updater is turned off – I don’t like anything that automatically downloads and installs anything on my comptuer – you get too many “Oh by the way, we also installed this that and the google toolbar for ya” programs.

    Kim

  7. Sprocket said

    It’s one avenue that is vunerable (sp?) for attack via a virus. Mr. Sprocket had it happen to him. He did Google searches and found other people had the same thing happen. So, it’s not unheard of.

    I’m not saying this is what happened to you, but it’s possible. Or, lol, maybe your computer tech guy is telling you a story.

  8. I’m not saying this is what happened to you, but it’s possible. Or, lol, maybe your computer tech guy is telling you a story.

    AHA! I think you hit the nail on the head with that last guess. I don’t know why I’m so suspicious, but I have a feeling he just plugged it in, let it run, it didn’t fail and he said “Ummm….drivers, yeah, that’s the ticket, I changed the drivers….”

    I could understand video drivers being bad if I changed the resolution on my screen, or swapped out the monitor or was running some exotic software that needed some funky screen resolution when it failed, but it wasn’t like that. Just sitting there, on the desktop and voila – there it goes. Shuts down. I don’t see how that can be a failure of the drivers – and like you, I googled, and found a lot of mention of this in relation to overheating and parts failure. And when the gurus in AFCA said “parts failure or overheating”, I pretty much believed it.

    And I scanned for any type of virus, although I didn’t see any other evidence of that – nothing in the boot record had changed, I checked the logs and it didn’t point to anything being called up and no executables were in the start up or master log text. And I long ago deleted the Sony rootkit that came installed on the Vaio, so nothing could be hiding in there.

    Time will tell, but I have a feeling in about a month or so some REAL, PHYSICAL component is going to fail, and although *I* will attribute it back to this, the computer guy won’t. He will say it is completely unrelated when my power supply goes bad or my video card fails.

    But we shall know the truth.

    Kim

  9. Sandy said

    How interesting you were in IT. Me too for what feels like an eternity. Tis’ irritating (after working our hearts out and being on top of the the game), we now know nothing about any of this “stuff”. Can’t even argue the points anymore.

    I still think the guy was taking advantage of a few computers in his room and was playing games against them. Video drivers very important and his explanation a slip of thought. At least he left out that you forgot to turn on the monitor… akin to having mute selected. A tad kidding, but these guys sure love using our stupid buttons and puts me in the dead bug position.

    Yes, keep us up on ZL. Great reads for lightening up the days of your readers. Hopefully we are not taking advantage of another with this curiosity. It feels like a mystery and wanting to find the glitch involved.

    Wishing you happy times on Thanksgiving. Your invitation to ZL is actally a very kind one.

  10. groo said

    You’d think that software, like video drivers, wouldn’t wear out. And it doesn’t. But they can become corrupted by a variety of means. If Windows doesn’t detect that they have become corrupted and replace them, then it needs to be done manually.
    What your computer guy told you is plausible.

Leave a Reply

 
