The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 971,429 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

The Creek Guys Cometh

Posted by thedarwinexception on October 22, 2007

 So! Busy day today! And it’s just after 2 o’clock! Usually I don’t pack so much into just one day – I like to stretch it out over the week. But it started bright and early this morning when THE COUNTY CAME!!! Oh fuck yeah! So I guess now the fucking zombie lady can STOP OBSESSING about it!!!! The ironic and totally awesome part of the county coming is that she was no where to be found when they came. No worry, I took TONS of pictures for her of them majestically driving down her fucking driveway, you know in case she wants to like fucking frame them and hang them on her stupid ass walls.

So they showed up and parked out front, scoping out where they had to go and where they had to be in order to get onto our property through zombie lady’s driveway. The “boss man” got a little taste of my frustration when he said “Well, did anyone ask her permission to cut through her yard? Is she aware that we are coming?” and I shot him a look that could have melted the fucking ice caps and I calmly said “Yeah, umm…I think she might have an inkling you’re coming.”

They paraded down her driveway, stopping to move her cooler – otherwise known as “her refrigerator”.

 

Then they had to lift one guy up in the bucket of the dozer to cut a limb from my favorite huge 100 foot tall pine tree. I love this tree and before he cut it I asked if it was going to harm the tree to cut the limb off and he promised me it wouldn’t hurt it. Fucker better not have been lying to me. I love that tree.

 

Then they cleared out the creek, and cleared out a whole wide area of the back woods. It’s like I have a real live backyard now. No grass, but it’s all cleared out. I wish they would do this to the area around the Harley barn that Paul collects all his junk in. You know, just scoop up all the wood, the shingles left over from the roof job, the garbage, the broken lawn mower, the “gardening” supplies that will never have a garden to supply, and all the various crap Paul leaves all over the damned place. I would have paid the guys to scoop all that shit up and take it away.

 

 

In other activities today, I finally went and got some material for the curtains in the bedroom. Paid more than I wanted to, but still less than I could buy drapes for at K Mart or Wal Mart, and certainly more than they want for the curtains on eBay that actually come with my comforter set.

This is my comforter set:

See those curtains on that window that match the comforter? Yeah, they want $70.00 a window for those curtains. When pigs fucking fly, I say. I am not paying $210 for drapes for my bedroom. We have three windows in there. Bullshit on your $70 per window. So I bought this material at Joann’s today, since all of their “Red Tag” materials were 50% off – and will be until Thursday. This material was normally $5.00 a yard on clearance – I got it for $2.50 a yard on sale. And I got 3 yards of each of the 4 different materials, for a grand total of $30.00. So, $30.00 for 3 windows – more in my “willing to spend” area.

This is the material I ended up buying. You can’t really see it in the picture, but the second color is a deep purple, like the walls in my bedroom, and the orange is a burnt orange, like the color in the comforter. And there are little clear sequins in the fabric, so they “shimmer”. Paul will hate that, you know, but I thought it was really pretty.

 

The other thing I did today was I finally got my hair cut. What a fucking mess. I can’t brush the back of my hair – it’s hard for me to move my shoulders enough to reach back there with a brush, so I had some actual dreadlocks forming in the back. No shit. And my hair, after years of not getting it cut, was down to my waist. Way too long and way too thick and way to snarly and the dreadlocks just capped the deal. I had to get it cut. So I finally did. And the poor girl that cut it actually sat there and got all the dreads out. (I tipped her well). I felt bad for her. She actually said a couple of times “Damn, no wonder you can’t do this – my arm is getting tired!” And at one point another stylist came over and helped my girl. She I had two people at the same time working on the two sides.

I brought this picture and told the girl “I wouldn’t mind some version of this – if it’s a very low maintenance style. If I have to blow dry it or curl it or work with some kind of special brush on the front and another special brush on the back and then gel it and mousse it and curl it under with a round brush – well, that’s just not happening in my world. I don’t even put on shoes – there is no way I’m going to fuck with my hair for an hour in the morning. So if this is low, low upkeep, cut it like this, if not, hack off a couple inches and we’ll call it good.” She assured me that she could do a long version of this style and it would be NO maintenance – and it really wasn’t. She cut it, washed it, and there it was – no curling irons, no straighteners, no mousse or gel, no special brushes – and it looked great straight after washing it. Perfect for me. So this is my new style – only longer. My front is about down to the middle of my boobs and the back is longer. But it looks much, much nicer than the dreadlocked snarly mess I went in with. And I love the “chopped” layers – it looks like your mother just cut bubble gum out of a few places – I like it.

So that was my big exciting day. Now I have to go sew some curtains.

11 Responses to “The Creek Guys Cometh”

  1. Val Dalton said

    Where did you get your hair done? I want to see it post a pic lol

  2. I got it done at Stylish Set next to Joann’s. The big selling point being that it was next to Joann’s, and I figured I was only getting it washed and conditioned – and maybe a few inches hacked off, I mean, how bad can they fuck that up?

    The girl that cut it was REALLY nice and a really good stylist. She understood that I couldn’t have anything complicated, that I wasn’t going to take care of it, and that I wasn’t into blow drying and curling – and she still made it look A LOT like the picture, and “styled” rather than my normal appearance of being Cousin It’s long lost twin sister.

    And a picture? Yeah, not going to happen – just imagine that picture I posted but longer. Besides, you can stop by and see it ANYTIME YOU WANT.

    Kim

  3. gobosox said

    Hey Kim I bet you look like a million bucks w. your new ‘do!! Good for you. About the nervous b.d., I drink a Bud when I feel that way and my neighbor says ‘that’s what Xanax is for!’ Sounds like you are rebounded,,yay,,,.I thought my craziness was b/c I have 2 teenagers and a husband in the house but your kids are gone and Paul sounds like a dream,,,so there goes that theory. Not including season 2 of Phil S., when’s the next good trial?

  4. mbmb said

    Kim,

    I hope Zombie Lady can handle all of this! But, thank goodness the “County” finally made it. It does sound like your nervous break down is going a little better. Or shouldn’t I even mention it? I love all the pictures you posted. You bring the whole story to life.

    Your comforter is beautiful, and so is the material for the curtains (drapes) for your bedroom. You definitely have a eye for color and matching it all together. Please post some pictures of the finished project. It’s sure to be lovely.

    I’m just like you about getting a hair cut. Put it off forever, but after I actually do it, I feel so much better. The hair style you chose is great, and very simple. Thanks again for sharing your life with all of us.

  5. Val Dalton said

    HAHA I may take u up on stopping by. I was going to make some halloween goodies next week, perhaps i’ll have to stop by with some. As u know i always come bearing gifts lol. How is holly? Janice really wants to take her, i told her she needs to move out of her rents house before she gets a dog, because if she brings one home now to her parents house her dad would make both her and the dog homeless…

  6. noor b said

    Kim, how are you going to make 6 panels out of 4 pieces of fabric each 3 yards long?

    You’re going to have to cut each panel into 6 pieces, length wise.
    That leaves you with less than 9″ width per color.

    Then you have to sew the 4 pieces of different fabric together, that gives you a width of less than 36″ each………..after taking in account the seams.

    Are you going to line the curtains?

    70 bucks per window is not really that much, because it includes the fabric. (And lining??)

    You (and me) are lucky that we can sew, because it saves a lot of money in labor cost.
    Also you can pick any fabric that you like.
    Let us know how the curtains turn out.
    The comforter is very pretty!

  7. I was going to make some halloween goodies next week, perhaps i’ll have to stop by with some.

    Oh don’t tease me!! What are you making? Is the baby going trick or treating?

    Janice really wants to take her, i told her she needs to move out of her rents house before she gets a dog, because if she brings one home now to her parents house her dad would make both her and the dog homeless…

    Oh I think Janice should take her – as long as there is no wood in the parent’s house and they have stairs made of cement it should all be fine.

    Kim

  8. You’re going to have to cut each panel into 6 pieces, length wise.
    That leaves you with less than 9″ width per color.

    LOL I just got done cutting them all out – and I have TONS left over – enough for a few pillows.

    The fabric is 60 inches wide, I cut 5 panels out of each color, 84 inches long and 12 inches wide. Now I am sewing together the panels – I will have 4 panels on each side of the windows, 40 inches wide each and the windows are 36 inches wide total.

    The smaller window that is over my bed I am only going to need “remnant” panels, since that window is just 20 inches wide and about 32 inches long. I may even just put a valance or scarf type covering on it – it’s really too small to have a curtain rod on it. We have some black metal scrollwork there now that kind of covers the window. And I don’t want to cover it up too much – that’s the window I spy on the zombie lady out of.

    Kim

  9. Kim (Canada) said

    Funny thing is… I can picture you trying to balance yourself on your bed, foot on or underneath each pillow, peering out of a tiny little window at that poor ol’ neighbour of yours….
    It’s quite the visual – Especially now with the new hair-do an’ all….

    LOL
    Fonzie :~)

  10. Sprocket said

    The curtains came out real nice. I haven’t made curtains since I moved into this house over ten years ago. I think I need new curtains.

  11. Funny thing is… I can picture you trying to balance yourself on your bed, foot on or underneath each pillow, peering out of a tiny little window at that poor ol’ neighbour of yours….

    It’s even funnier when you see Paul and I pushing each other out of the way to get a better view. Figures the one window that overlooks her back porch would be the smallest damned window in the house.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

 
