The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,281 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Perpetuate the Madness

Posted by thedarwinexception on October 20, 2007

Amy started this shit. Blame her.

 I hate these things – usually because they are goofy and ask you to answer stupid questions that no one cares about, anyway. I get these in my inbox sometimes, and I generally delete them without even looking at them – especially if at the end they say stupid shit like “Now send this to 10 of your favorite women, and you’ll have good luck all day!” partly because I don’t have “10 favorite women” and partly because I really don’t believe that answering a bunch of questions and then forwarding the answers is going to bring me luck. Not the kind of luck I want to have, anyway.

Here are the rules which you must abide by if you are tagged.


1. Link to your tagger and post these rules.

Ok – I did that I think.


2. Share 7 facts about yourself: some random, some weird.

See? Now this is the part I hate.

7 Facts about Kim – some random, some weird. And if you already knew all this shit, well, too bad. There’s really not that much to know about me.

1. I still love the TV show “Friends”. It’s like comfort food. I watch it all the time – especially when the Dish is out.. I will take the whole seasons worth of DVD’s and load them up in the carousel DVD player and watch the whole season in one sitting. I always thought that it would have been really cool if Monica had married Richard and *then* married Chandler, because then her name would have been Monica Burke Bing. (say that out loud).

2. I am the oldest of 8 kids – I have 4 brothers and 3 sisters. There is a set of twins in there, somewhere.

3. I have a tattoo on my right boob. It’s of a black widow spider. I got it because my motto used to be “I eat my men when I’m through with them”. It somehow was appropriate and made sense at the time.

4. I used to own an emu.

5. My stomach area is nasty and ugly since I have scars all over it. I look like Frankenstein’s monster. There is a vertical scar from an emergency C section – then 2 more c-section scars, one horizontal, another vertical. Then there is a scar from my emergency gall bladder removal and another scar from having to have cartilage removed from between a couple of my ribs. My stomach looks like a fucking roadmap.

6. I love to go to Karaoke bars and sing. I won $100 in a Karaoke competition once singing “Key Largo”.

7. I think that the “girlie” part of my brain is missing. I hate all things “Girl”. I hate shopping, I hate fashion or style or clothes, I hate shoes, I don’t like to talk on the phone and the WORST gifts to get me are flowers or jewelry. I own few actual “clothes” – maybe two pairs of pants, one or two extra large shirts and I don’t think I own a bra. I have two pairs of shoes – one for winter, one for summer, and I rarely if ever wear jewelry – I hardly ever even wear my wedding band set.

3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post and list their names (linking to them).

Well, I hate this part, too. You have to perpetuate the madness, see. So if you see a comment on your blog, well, like I said, blame Amy.

Joey Moggie – she deserves it – she’s one of those “Thinking Bloggers”.

Sprocket – Why not? I’d like to know 7 things about her.

Mary at Digital Knitter – She can put the needles down for a few minutes.

Anthony in the UK – He’ll do it, why not.

The Domestic Diva – Because she has made a lot of work for me – especially with her recent post about new baby gifts.

Abarclay at Leaky Brain – because she reads the blog and she’ll know I didn’t want to do it.

Bill at Billville – Because he doesn’t read the blog and he’ll wonder what the fuck this is all about.

4. Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment at their blogs.
 

Yeah – ok. I’ll do that.

13 Responses to “Perpetuate the Madness”

  1. ADBusby said

    I think there are two sets of twins in your family. Your mother must have adopted out me because you just described me. I must be your long lost twin.

    By the way, I was thinking about you and your nervous breakdown yesterday. Some neighbor was running a chain saw non-stop, then my spouse started mowing the lawn, then blowing off the drive way. I thought if this noise doesn’t stop, I’m gonna join Kim and have a breakdown too.

  2. Sprocket said

    Seven things. Oh-my-GOD, lol! I normally hate getting these things in email also, and usually trash them too!

    Let’s see.

    1. I am the middle child of five siblings. 3 girls; 2 boys. I knew at a young age (15) that I would never have kids. I’ve basically never wavered from that. I only had a fleeting thought of having a child, when I saw my younger sister’s child for the first time. My niece was two at the time, and quite angelic looking. (She was a child model, and had a good career in that for several years.) 20 seconds later I thought, WHAT WERE YOU THINKING!!!! Every one of my siblings has had one child.

    2. I could watch the show HOMICIDE every day for the rest of my life. I am a big fan. There has never been a crime show on TV that comes close to the quality of that show.

    3. I am a “tomboy” through and through, and my most favorite thing to wear is a pair of jeans and a T-shirt with a pocket. (Kim, I only wear my wedding band when I leave the house! That’s because as a bodyworker, I can’t wear my band, and besides, I’ve never gotten used to wearing one.) When I attended the Spector trial, I had to go out and buy several nice blouses to wear to court.

    4. My first vehicle was a motorcycle. I learned to ride a motorcycle when I was 18 years old. I didn’t learn how to drive a car until I was 22. I’ve ridden cross country by myself (Cali to Ohio~where I grew up), crashed big time, broke bones, etc. I rode pretty consistently for over 20 years. I still have my GS750E, but it’s been in storage for several years. In my wild days, I never got a tattoo, however, I did have some great “lines,” such as, “Hey little boy, wanna go for a motorcycle ride?”

    5. I got married later in life. I met my husband on the Blood Type Diet Message Board. You can actually read about it in the message board archives. Maybe you can get this link to work Kim, if it truncates.

    http://www.dadamo.com/forum/archivea/config.pl?read=90994

    6. I hate clutter. Absolutely drives me crazy; I love the principles of feng shui, and anything Asian. My house is decorated in Asian themes.

    7. I really enjoy giving presents, usually something new that I’ve created on my sewing machine.

    Now as far as passing this along to other bloggers, I have to confess I don’t even have that many blogs that I read to pass this onto! Crap!

  3. abarclay12 said

    Wait a minute. Is this like one of those things where if I don’t send this to 7 people in 38 seconds I’ll die poor, childless, and with a full bush? But I am loving your comment “because she reads the blog and she’ll know I didn’t want to do it.” Ha! That’s funny because that’s exactly what I was thinking before I read my name at the end of your post. And the spider tattoo on your boob – you eat your men when you’re through with them. HI-LARIOUS. I love that. What have the men though of that? Finally, love that there’s some twins in your family, but you’re not sure where.

  4. Don’t ever do these chain mail things but very chuffed to be on you list. So here goes:

    1. We have two kittens called Boxer and Pixie. They are tabby and cannot be told apart except that Boxer is more greedy and therefore bigger than Pixie. Pixie caught a mouse last night and left part of it on the carpet in the hall.

    2. One of my planned projects is to put on a boxing match in which there are no boxers, only the ring girls carrying placards around with the round numbers. This ought to please people who think boxing should be banned as being inhuman.

    3. In 1940 I was aged ten. Where we lived on the South Coast of England was an Invasion Area. The Germans were on the other side of the English Channel. Around about 8 am I went to see the soldiers in the machine gun nest made from sandbags set into an embankment overlooking the beach. They were all fast asleep around a Vickers Machine Gun pointing out to sea. I decided not to wake them up.

    4. My favourite film is Jerry Maguire, The American President, Legally Blonde, Notting Hill, Moonstruck. They all have huge moments. Jerry Maguire where Renee Zellweger says “You had me at hello”; American President in the dance at the White House Ball with all eyes following them; Legally Blonde where Reese Witherspoone helps the nerdy guy by pretending he stood her up; Notting Hill: “After all… I’m just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her.” Moonstruck: Get me the big knife!”

    5. My favourite opera is La Traviata. When I contested a parliamentary election in 1996 I had a poster directed at retired people which read: Bingo in the Afternoon and in the Evening La Traviata. This was based on a recollection of something they used to say in Venice in the time of the Serenissima about a good life being a little Mass in the morning, a little cards in the afternoon and a little woman in the evening.

    6. One day I ought to get into the Guinness Book of Records for being the last person alive who saw a judge put on a black cap to condemn a man to death. This is because I qualified as a lawyer when very young. Having no clients and time on my hands I was in court, aged 23, when John Christie was sentenced to death in June 1953. The last person to be sentenced to death in England was in 1965. Anyone in court at that time who was aged, say, 30 would now be aged 72. If I live to be a hundred it should just do it.

    7. From the moment I read the first sentence in the first paragraph of a Harry Potter book I will do nothing else until I have finished the book.

  5. I thought if this noise doesn’t stop, I’m gonna join Kim and have a breakdown too.

    Oh! We should start a CLUB!! Who wants to design the t shirts?

    (and I would have killed your neighbor, if I were you – and the husband. – what’s wrong with me? I just want to kill people, I swear…)

    Kim

  6. Every one of my siblings has had one child.

    Well, what pisses ME off, is I had 3 boys. Didn’t have a girl, always wanted a girl. Then, my brother starts having kids – and he has 3 girls. My sister starts having kids and she has??? Yup -3 girls.

    My other brother is like me, he has 3 boys. And then my youngest sister has a boy and a girl, but we don’t count her becuase she’s the fucking moron who named her daughter “Precious” – the absolute worst, stupidest fucking name in all of history. God I hate that name. And if your name is Precious, I’m sorry, but why haven’t you had it changed? And if your kid’s name is Precious, hey, I’m sorry, but what the fuck were you thinking??? The kid can be nothing when she grows up but a stripper. Can you imagine “Paging Dr. Precious”. No, of course not, or “Ladies and Gentlemen, the President of the United States – Precious!”

    For the love of God.

    I could watch the show HOMICIDE every day for the rest of my life

    I think I DO watch Law & Order every day of my life. I love that show.

    I met my husband on the Blood Type Diet Message Board.

    Which is a phenomenon I still don’t “get” – marrying people you met online. I hate “chat” – never do it. And I hate message boards, too. Even this one – I hate the way they thread, I hate the way they don’t group conversations together – I’m way too used to a real newsreader and Usenet to ever get used to message boards.

    And even though I’ve met some really really great people and my probably closest friend (Lesmond) on usenet – I can’t imagine marrying someone I met online. Of course, in 20 years most everyone will have spouses they met on line, I suppose.

    My house is decorated in Asian themes.

    My house is decorated in “early construction”. My kitchen is all apple stuff, my dining room is “french cafe”, my living room is just all my antique furniture and stuff, my computer room is just “:black and white”, the sewing room is slowly becoming “sewing related”, since I took all the “jungle” stuff out of there and put it in the TV room, the bathroom is “nautical” and the bedroom is well….clutter….you’d hate my bedroom.

    Kim

  7. Is this like one of those things where if I don’t send this to 7 people in 38 seconds I’ll die poor, childless, and with a full bush?

    Yes, that’s exactly what it is, now go do it.

    What have the men thought of that?

    Well, I haven’t really “had” enough men to test it out. I was just in a “mood” when I got it. I originally wanted Snoopy dancing, but when I went to the tattoo parlor, I wasn’t in the right frame of mind, I guess, and I ended up with this. Don’t go to a tattoo parlor when you’re pissed off.

    love that there’s some twins in your family, but you’re not sure where.

    Yeah, the twins are one of the boys and one of the girls. And neither of them has any kids.

    Kim

  8. In 1940 I was aged ten. Where we lived on the South Coast of England was an Invasion Area. The Germans were on the other side of the English Channel. Around about 8 am I went to see the soldiers in the machine gun nest made from sandbags set into an embankment overlooking the beach. They were all fast asleep around a Vickers Machine Gun pointing out to sea. I decided not to wake them up.

    You should write a post on your blog about this and the whole experience of being young and living in a war zone.

    One day I ought to get into the Guinness Book of Records for being the last person alive who saw a judge put on a black cap to condemn a man to death.

    My Grandmother’s only sibling, her sister, was murdered as a young woman. She was like 18. Her killer was the last man in Vermont to be “hanged by the nexk until dead”. Shortly after hsi execution they brought in the electric chair.

    Kim

  9. PJB(UK) said

    Sprocket:

    I met my husband on the Blood Type Diet Message Board.

    I am intrigued by the concept of a Blood Type Diet Message Board. It sounds like a virtual meeting place for vampires who have, as part of the latest health fad, sworn off type O (fattening) and type A negative (bad for your liver).

  10. Sprocket said

    I am intrigued by the concept of a Blood Type Diet Message Board. It sounds like a virtual meeting place for vampires who have, as part of the latest health fad, sworn off type O (fattening) and type A negative (bad for your liver).

    It’s a community of people who follow that way of eating. Most are trying the diet to improve their health, where, mainstream medicine has not helped them. It totally reversed all of my arthritis and digestive issues. I no longer have arthritis and my gut is fine now. I’ve been following it for about ten years.

    http://www.dadamo.com/

    Kim,

    I know what you mean about the internet/dating/marriage. It was just one of those flukey things, and I wouldn’t normally recommend it to people…although eHarmony supposedly has a good track record.

  11. although eHarmony supposedly has a good track record.

    Ummm…yeah, if you’re straight, white and a faithful and practicing Christian. It probably helps, too, if you subscribe to the beliefs of “Focus on the Family”, the evangelical Christian group that backs the “great eHarmony experiment”, the purpose of which is to lower the divorce rate.

    I’m afraid if I were to apply to eHarmony, I’d turn up in one of those chemistry.com commercials with a big “REJECTED BY EHARMONY” stamp across my head. Although I am not gay, I hate companies and services that openly discriminate against gay marriage, something I support fervently, and I boycott such companies when I am able, and although I spent 16 years in Catholic schools, I am not a “practicing and devout Christian”, so I don’t think eHarmony would give me the benefit of finding me a suitable match.

    Kim

  12. Val Dalton said

    Kim,

    Next time u have your friends marathon call me!! I LOVE that show!!! We had a huge party at the Chateaugay Cafe (now out of business) when the final episode aired. I watch it any time I can I only have the 1st five seasons on DVD.

  13. Kim (Canada) said

    Thank you, Kim!
    I learned something real important to me, about you today…
    Fonzie :~)

Leave a Reply

 
