The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 969,944 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

I’m HUGE in England

Posted by thedarwinexception on August 20, 2007

OK – I am officially famous – and not just as the person most rednecks want to run out of Malone for dissing the Redneck Games, either. No, Mick Brown, who wrote a book on Phil Spector titled “Tearing Down the Wall Of Sound” writes for the Daily Telegraph in England and he has included me and my blog in his latest contribution. You can read the article here.

How cool is that?

I think the coolest part of being interviewed by Mick Brown is that he is the guy who wrote the book that Spector hates. I love his account of finally screwing up the courage to say “HI!” to Spector. And I wonder if Mick was in court for the whole “let’s see how scary we can make Phil look and have him stand up and point a gun” demonstration. How cool would it have been if Spector had turned around and pointed it at Mick? Bet he wanted to. But probably Mick wouldn’t have had to worry unless Alan Jackson ducked.

And now that I am famous, I shall charge everyone a nickel to read the blog. If you are reading this, you own me a nickel. And I know who you are, too.

And today I was very, very busy. Damned Val and her homemade brownies. I figured “Look, Kim, this chick works 40 hours a week, has a new baby, and still cans her own damned pickles and makes homemade brownies…” She shamed me into cooking. So I made zucchini bread.

And oh, I also tore the whole sewing room apart (AGAIN!). Paul was very nice to me this weekend and when the people across the street had their estate sale, Paul bought me a bookshelf for the downstairs living room *and* a new cabinet set-up for the sewing room. The cabinet set up is what used to be in their kitchen, with a full length countertop on the top of a base with drawers, storage units and lots of cubbyholes. And it’s white and brown – which matches the sewing room! How lucky was that? I LOVE it. But it meant that today I had to take *ALL* the books out of the sewing room, bring them downstairs to the new bookshelf, sort through all the crap in the sewing room, take all the bookshelves out of there, set up the new cabinet and sort through all the fabric to put all that in the new cabinet.

My legs are *killing* me from running up and down the stairs all day. But just wait until you see the “new, improved” sewing room with no hint of library/sewing room. I’ll take pictures as soon as Paul gets the countertop onto the cabinets.

And now I have to go back to The Domestic Diva and get caught up on the sewing room organization challenge – I’m ready for her now!

29 Responses to “I’m HUGE in England”

  1. noor b said

    That’s VERY cool Kim!

    I owe you more than 1 nickle.
    Way to go!

    Love you blog, keep it coming!

  2. Holy Toledo said

    A nickel!!!! You got to be kidding. Let’s see. 134,000 times .05 = $6,700. What do you think are the chances you’re going to see that? I agree you’re worth it and more. I knew some publication would pick you up. Any editor out there with a brain would put you on a contract. Sigh.
    Then I’ll have to subscribe to another magazine. I just let my National Geographic expire and those people have called me at least 6 times. I can’t be that important to their bottom line. Anyway, congratulations on making it across the Pond.

  3. Holy Toledo said

    PS (post script) not Phil

    Wasn’t that too spooky what he wrote about The Savage? I bet you won’t write anything bad about that guy. If you do,I’ll know you’re crazy for sure.

  4. mbmb said

    Once again…Congratulations Kim! You deserve all the attention you get. You are a fantastic writer, with a wonderful sense of humor. I hope Spector reads his article and your blog…and really gets pissed. But, then again…I don’t want anything bad to happen to the “New Mrs. Spector”…even as weird as she is. Spector has caused enough hurt and evil for *TEN* life times. His children and ex wifes carry the scars. Not to mention the women who just passed through the “Hell of Spector”.

  5. Gail said

    Kim, I think it is really really cool! Shaaazammm!

    Only a 5c? Do we get some zucchini bread with that? 😉

    I agree with Mbmb, you are a fantastic writer and yes with a wonderful sense of humor to boot! A many KUDOS to you! I think we come here in groves to read your blog. Too bad CTTV didn’t hire you for their new 3:00 PM slot! How great would that have been huh? 🙂

  6. Too bad CTTV didn’t hire you for their new 3:00 PM slot! How great would that have been huh?

    Well, shit – ANYONE would be better than Star Jones. For the love of God, I’d rather have my eyeballs eaten out of their sockets by slowmoving silk worms than watch her phony stupid ass for an hour.

    What the HELL were they thinking? “The Star Treatment?” What the hell is that? Marry a gay guy and have your stomach stapled?

    Kim

  7. mbmb said

    Well, shit – ANYONE would be better than Star Jones. For the love of God, I’d rather have my eyeballs eaten out of their sockets by slowmoving silk worms than watch her phony stupid ass for an hour.

    What the HELL were they thinking? “The Star Treatment?” What the hell is that? Marry a gay guy and have your stomach stapled?

    Kim

    PAY TO HAVE YOUR STOMACH STAPLED! And, then she had to get a dig in on Don Imus…for having 2,3 or more chances! Please God…make me shut the hell up!

  8. catchme said

    I agree, great blog and I also owe you more that a nickel. I would also like to throw my support your way to replace Star Jones, IT IS CTV, I don’t want no stickin’ talk shows about, ARGH…. CRAP!!! What is happening to our CVT, we need to start a campaign, save our CTV. SAVE OUR CTV, PLEASE!!!

    I read the article earlier, GREAT JOB! you deserve it, I spend more time here that watching CTV lately…

  9. Sprocket said

    Hi Kim,

    I’m so glad Mick included you in the article and quoted you. (Just LOVED the African comment lol!) You know I’m a fan and you rock; you deserve to be famous. I was almost tongue tied when I was formally introduced to him. He so SO DREAMY! I was totally surprised when he asked for my email addy, and said he was thinking of writing a piece about the bloggers.

  10. Carolina said

    It was only a matter of time before the UK got wind of you! Congrats Kim, you are on your way!!

    What are the chances we can tune into that Savage guys trial? I’d LOVE to read a daily blog on that trainwreck. By the way I am officially boycotting CTV since you spread the word about KTLA feed.

  11. Deb said

    Hello Kim,

    Greetings from the UK! I read the article by Mick Brown on the BBC News website and just had to visit 🙂 (I owe you a nickle … hehehe). Love your blog. I will defintely pop in again (I’ll bring a pot of tea and some crumpets next time!)

    Wishing you all the best
    Deb X X X

  12. (I owe you a nickle … hehehe).

    Ok – the first one is free…but if you come back, leave a nickle by the door.

    (I’ll bring a pot of tea and some crumpets next time!)

    Cool! I’ll bring Diet Coke and zucchini bread. And we’ll have to get Val to bring some pickles by.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Kim

  13. What are the chances we can tune into that Savage guys trial?

    Man, I hope Someone airs that trial – that’s one I will cover with bells on!

    By the way I am officially boycotting CTV since you spread the word about KTLA feed.

    Much MUCH better, isn’t it? Those damned commercials on CTV drive me insane. If I had to hear those two bratty little girls sing that fucking Oreo song one more time, well…bad things were going to happen.

    Kim

  14. Valerie said

    HAHA so i guilted you into making zucchini bread eh? Did you make any for Natasha… Janice and I call her Natasha Queen of the Damned. She sounds a lot more spookier that way. Janice say the movie on TV last night “THe Girl with the Pearl Earing” about Vermeer. She wants to know what a pearl earing has to do with solar power? Please ask Natasha lol

  15. Marie said

    I owe you money too. Actually you probably owe me money for all the times I’ve burst out laughing and spit diet coke all over my computer… so we’ll call it even…
    You’re hysterical and I’m glad you’re getting the fame you deserve!

  16. A.D.A. said

    Set up a PayPal account. Money is not a problem. You are so NOT stupid. I’d pay!

  17. Kat said

    Kim,

    Congratulations! It really sounds like he has a lot of respect for you and your site! What a bump! 🙂

  18. Glenda said

    What is up with the Star Jones thing? Who did she replace? Katherine Crier and Nancy (oh by the way, it is all about me) Grace? I can do w/out Nancy but I really like Katherine. Where did she go? We really don’t need another talk show. . .especially not her!!!!

    Congrats on the England article–that was “spot on” as they say. I agree with his perception–Sprocket does have a very Martha Stewart approach to her blog while you, on the other hand, are more of a Bill Maher “what the fuck are they thinking” attitude.

  19. njgill said

    If I am converting correctly, Deb owes you thruppence.

    Vermeer WAS known as the original painter of light, after all (not that schlocky Thomas Kinkade). Maybe Natasha has figured out how to channel the source?

  20. Who did she replace? Katherine Crier and Nancy (oh by the way, it is all about me) Grace?

    That’s the suck ass part – she didn’t really “replace” anyone at this point. Crier used to be on at 5 and they had live trial coverage until then. Then they got rid of her and there was trial coverage until 4 – now there’s only trial coverage until 3 – which means that if a trial is on the West Coast they stop coverage at noon.

    I hate Court TV anymore.

    Kim

  21. HAHA so i guilted you into making zucchini bread eh?

    Yes, you adorable little witch, you.

    And I had forgotten “The Girl with the Pearl Earring” was about Vermeer – I’ll have to rent that and watch it again.

    Or you can just send Janice over to talk to Natasha Queen of the Damned about it. I’m sure they’d have *TONS* to discuss.

    NQOTD is convinced that the neighbors are peeking in her windows – and that they float above the ground to do it – I shit you not. I was sitting here TRYING to watch the trial when she came over to tell me about it. I was quite abrupt with her (The trial was on, dammit), and she was telling me – “DEY Float above Dee ground and they peek – they peek!!!!” She wanted to know if I knew who the people were that lived behind her – because she was sure it was them. I said “I don’t know them – but I’m quite sure they aren’t floaters.” And I shut the door on her (THE TRIAL WAS ON).

    I am going to ask her about it tomorrow when court is dark – I really need the whole story.

    Kim

  22. Bob E. said

    Hmmm….Painter of light — wall of sound… I think we’re on to something here!

    –Bob

  23. Veronique said

    Did you tell Natasha that microwaves are effective in keeping neighbors from floating up and looking into windows? To work best, they need to be planted, in mugs in the garden.

    V.

  24. PJB(UK) said

    Congratulations from a non-Daily-Telegraph-reading Englishman. I’ve left half a jar of UK new pence (roughly equivalent to a whole jarful of nickels) in the basement.

  25. Annette said

    AND Star Jones looks terrible. At least when she was overweight she had some pizzaz and glamour. Change the hair at least, straight hair does nothing for her. I will give her a chance if she is discussing the trial, but just to watch more non-talented guests, no way.

  26. pattymac said

    You mentioned Hobbes’ hoodie! I have got to get a copy of that newspaper and save it for him. Great interview!

    Pattymac

  27. OMG Kim!!! You so ROCK!!! And yes, my nickel is in the mail…LOL! Congrats on your new found fame!

    New sewing room cabinets? Woo-hoo! Heck, why didn’t you call me? I’d have come over to help you refold all that fabric…NOT!

    got a new surprise for you today…Part IV of the Sewing Room Organization Challenge, just in case you finished with the fabric:

    http://thedomesticdiva.wordpress.com/2007/08/29/sewing-room-organization-challenge-part-iv-laces-trims-and-ribbons/

    Have a great day!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  28. New sewing room cabinets? Woo-hoo! Heck, why didn’t you call me? I’d have come over to help you refold all that fabric…NOT!

    HA! Isn’t that a PAIN!!! And I have been forbidden by the hubby to buy any more fabric – he said Buttons – I can only buy Buttons. I told him I don’t NEED any more buttons, and he said “I don’t give a shit about Buttons – you have room for another tackle box full of buttons, but you aren’t getting another cabinet for fabric.”

    OOOHHH!!!! I’m going there tonight to see what’s new!!! I NEED help with laces and trims!!!!

    Thanks for the heads up – and it came at a great time – no court for a few days! Woo Hoo.

    Now all you sewing people who are following the trial – we have TIME – so let’s keep busy while we wait and ORGANIZE! Follow me to Domestic Diva’s site and we’ll get the sewing rooms in order during the court’s dark days.

    Kim

  29. Kim…that man of yours has got to be kidding! No fabric cabinets? Not to worry as I’m sure lots of us have some “creative storage hints” for your future fabric purchases…he’ll never know. Did he mention anything about no more yarn? I agree…buttons are not top on my list of addictions…LOL!

    oh and don’t get me started with Star Jones. If I ran her over here on the streets of NYC, I’d back up and make sure she wasn’t breathing.

    With friendship,
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

 
