The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,745 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Holly the Horse

Posted by thedarwinexception on July 20, 2007

So I was taking Milo for a walk today, and we got about a block from the house and I see a sign on the telephone pole: “Free Puppy to Good Home”. You couldn’t really tell which house had the “Free Puppy to Good Home”, because the pole was kind of in the middle of two houses. It could have been the house to the left or the house to the right of the pole.

But there was a guy standing on the porch of the house to the right, so I kind of yelled over to him “Are you the one with the puppy?”

He kind of yells back “Yeah, do you want to see her?”

And like an idiot I say “OK”. Because, you know, just what I fucking need is another dog, right?

So the guy shows me around to the back of the house where he has this permanent structure built that has wooden sides and looks like a scaled down version of an ark. It has windows in it with wire in them, and the top is half open and half covered with more wooden planks. I bend down to the wire door and he yells “Holly! Holly!” and soon this puppy comes to the door.

Only – she’s not *quite* a puppy – at least, not any normal puppy *I* think of when I think “Oh, what a cute puppy!” No, what comes to the mesh wire door of the pseudo-ark is what can best be described as a small Shetland pony. This dog is huge. So I say to the guy “Oh Shit! This is a puppy?” “Oh, yeah!” he assures me – “She’s only 5 months old!”

But the dog is very friendly, and Milo has gone up to the door and is sniffing and wagging his tail and the “puppy” is doing a play bow to Milo and running around and getting very excited. And then Milo starts whining because he doesn’t like the wire mesh door between them.

The guy says she is a Rottweiler and that if he can’t find a “good home” for her by the weekend, he is going to have to take her to the pound because she doesn’t get along with the chow he already has. I find it hard to believe that she doesn’t get along with his chow, she seems to be getting along with Milo just fine, and he says “Oh, the chow doesn’t get along with any other dogs.” Making me wonder why he got this dog to begin with, you know, if he already knew his other dog didn’t like company.

He seems to realize that I might be wondering that, because he volunteers that the only reason he has this dog is because he rescued it from his sister, who was abusing the dog and keeping it on a chain and leaving it out all night. He didn’t want her to have to be chained out all this winter, so the last time he was at his sister’s house, he just took the dog from them and the sister didn’t protest at all.

Now I feel sorry for the dog, and since I know that bringing the dog to the shelter is pretty much a death sentence, since people around here hate the shelter, and most of the animals there are too expensive to even be considered adoptable for most people, I want to bring the dog home. I mean, we are a “good home” – for a dog, anyway. Actually we are dog freaking paradise.

Besides, Milo likes her.

So I tell the guy Look, I can’t bring this dog home right now, since I have Milo with me and there’s no way I’m going to try walking two damned dogs home, but *don’t* bring the dog to the shelter, let me get Paul to come over here when he gets home, and we’ll see what he says. Paul has been wanting a big dog, anyway, the whole “cairn terrier” thing is ruining his image. It’s embarrassing for him, with all his “bad boy of Harley” tattoos and beard and leathers and crap to be walking down the street with dog the size of some large rats. He loves Ray and Lynn’s rottie, and when The Useless twin number 1 was here, he had a rottie Paul loved, too.

So, I go home and when Paul gets home I say to him “Want a rot?” He says “Why? Who has a rot?” And I tell him “Some guy on the next street over”, so he gets a leash and we go over to look at the dog, and well, now we have a new “puppy”. Only it’s not really a puppy, it’s a small horse. Who eats like a small horse.

So here is the newest member of the family, Holly the Horse.

11 Responses to “Holly the Horse”

  1. abarclay12 said

    I love Holly the horse. She’s a beauty.

  2. Veronique said

    What a face! We had a dog named Holly, just the nicest, most “get along with everyone” dog ever. Some rottweilers are great, there were some really sweet ones that came into the vet’s. (Then there was the one that ate the cat next door.)

    Congratulations!

    V.

  3. I love Holly the horse. She’s a beauty.

    I think she’s a really nice dog. I think it’s a shame she’s been shuffled around so much. 5 months old and this is her third home that I’m aware of.

    People treat animals like disposable commidities. Quite aggravating.

    Kim

  4. What a sweetheart! I can see why you had to adopt her.

    How’s Milo doing with having a puppy? What about that cat (or has it moved back with its original owner)?

  5. Some rottweilers are great, there were some really sweet ones that came into the vet’s.

    I was never a fan of rott’s, really. I think they are right up there with pit bulls in the overall scheme of “some people breed them because they can be mean”. I think they have the potential to be misunderstood and used in the wrong ways – as status symbols of “badness”, where the badder the dog, the more the dogs street cred goes up.

    If I had kids, I wouldn’t have this dog, but I couldn’t see it being put down for no reason whatsoever. The dog is healthy, nice, friendly and gets along great with Milo, she doesn’t deserve to go to the shelter.

    Paul thinks I’m crazy because every time we go to the shelter to bring extra dog food we have or blankets or whatever it is they need that particular month, I get all upset that I can’t bring home every dog there. But I tell him, “Look, you have a habit of moving in people – my habit is animals. Who’s habit has proved to be the wiser of the two?”

    Kim

  6. What a sweetheart! I can see why you had to adopt her.

    Yeah, I can’t resist a homeless animal. People? eh, let them find a sturdy box, but animals….

    How’s Milo doing with having a puppy?

    Milo just loves having someone to play the chase game with – where you throw a toy and then he goes and gets it and then you chase him around the kitchen island, through the dining room, through the living room, up the stairs, through the TV room….rinse, lather, repeat.

    Surprisingly enough, this game gets old for me after about the second time around the kitchen island, but Milo never tires of it. And Holly has been a willing participant, so, more power to her.

    Plus, he has the added bonus with Holly that when she actually catches Milo, they then get into a tug of war for the toy, and tug of war is Milo’s second favorite game.

    What about that cat (or has it moved back with its original owner)?

    We still sort of have the cat – he kind of belongs to us and the people next door. He comes inside once in a while, but prefers the outdoors, or at least access to the food bowl both here and next door. The next door neighbors got a new puppy a month or so ago – a cocker spaniel, and the cat was over there playing with her for a while, much to the delight of the neighbors. They found the same thing I did – high enrgy puppies need someone else to play with, and the cat was used to Milo, so he was more than willing to play with the cocker puppy for a while.

    Kim

  7. Glenda said

    Bless you for being willing to take a chance on a dog that has had a lot of turmoil in her young life. I’ve often thought about doing the “rescue” thing but our 3rd child, Max The Wonder Pug, is scared of his own shadow and I could just see me bringing in a dog with ‘issues’ that would send Max to the therapist’s couch for years.
    My daughter rescued a cute little puppy that was wandering the streets at about 2 months old. He is now a year old 65 pound monster that I swear is related to Clifford the Big Red Dog, he just keeps growing. Sweet as he can be but can knock you over with his tail! So good luck withe the Horse and I hope your husband feels very macho walking his new buddy.

  8. Dana said

    Pretty puppy! Oh, look at the pretty, pretty puppy!

  9. Bless you for being willing to take a chance on a dog that has had a lot of turmoil in her young life. I’ve often thought about doing the “rescue” thing but our 3rd child, Max The Wonder Pug, is scared of his own shadow and I could just see me bringing in a dog with ‘issues’ that would send Max to the therapist’s couch for years.

    Yes, I’m glad I’m in a position to be able to “rescue” animals. We have experience at it. When we were in Florida we had 45 acres and a lot of available “animal sheds”. We got to be known as “the people who will take your animal”. We had dogs, cats, (a colony of ferals), rabbits, ferrets, chickens and a crowing ass rooster, a cow, an emu, 3 horses, and a wild boar baby that got seperated from it’s mommy…..ALL resuce pets.

    The vet was right across the street from our property, and she used to use us as foster care for animals she had taken in or rescued, so we had lots of “temporary” pets as well.

    I just can’t stand to see animals abused or neglected – it’s the number one thing that will get my blood boiling. Every animal deserves love and a full food bowl and a warm place to sleep.

    our 3rd child, Max The Wonder Pug, is scared of his own shadow and I could just see me bringing in a dog with ‘issues’ that would send Max to the therapist’s couch for years.

    Well, I understand that. We have Brewster the scaredy dog – he has “issues”. He’s afraid of everything – and I mean *everything*. He’s afraid of things that make noise – so he has a problem with TV and the microwave. Scared to death of them. He’s afraid of linoleum and tile – he won’t walk on it. He’s afraid of thunder (noise again), he’s afraid of things that move quickly so now he has a *real* problem with the TV, because one day it fell off the wall unit while he was sitting in the room – now he won’t go in the TV room. He has to have his own food bowl, if Milo eats out of his he’ll starve before he’ll eat out of it, so we have to have his “special” bowl in the laundry room where no one else can touch it. So I think he’s a little germophobic or something.

    And I think he’s OCD – before he comes into the house after being outside he has to rub his back on the porch rail three times – it’s a “thing”. If we bring him in the back door, he has to run out to the front, rub his back three times, then run back to the back door to come in.

    He’s a weirdo.

    But he likes other animals. So, we don’t have a problem bringing someone new into the fold. He won’t “welcome” them, he more or less ignores them, but he won’t fight with them, either.

    He is now a year old 65 pound monster that I swear is related to Clifford the Big Red Dog, he just keeps growing. Sweet as he can be but can knock you over with his tail!

    Well, I must admit, after we got this dog, Ray and Lynn, some friends of Paul’s brouoght *their* female Rott over to introduce her to Holly. When I saw the size of *her*, I had some hesitations and secodn thoughts. This dog is like 160 pounds! HUGE! And if Holly stays as clumsy as she is and she gets to be that size, well, we could have some problems.

    So good luck withe the Horse and I hope your husband feels very macho walking his new buddy.

    Paul is really liking her. She’s SO sweet and SO loving. I was really, really surprised that she was so sweet, being so neglected as she was. She doesn’t *act* like an abused dog, or one with attachment issues. Which says a lot about the dog. To go through everything she’s been through and Still be so nice and sweet, I think she’ll make a very loving, loyal pet with some attention and stability.

    Kim

  10. Pretty puppy! Oh, look at the pretty, pretty puppy!

    Ha! I was going to email you a picture – I wasn’t sure if you’d see the blog, and I just KNEW you’d love her! And it was kind of funny when the guy said her name was Holly – I thought “Milo and Holly! That’s Molly!” So I thought of you.

    Kim

  11. Chris said

    I’m so glad I come here to read about the Spector case, because I really needed something positive and encouraging today. I live in Georgia, and I have been obsessing about the Michael Vick case and unable to get that monster off my mind. I’ve been involved with dog rescue for a number of years, and like you, I can’t turn away a needy soul. Yet every week I see people dump dogs at the shelter where I volunteer, for the most ridiculous reasons on earth. It’s so discouraging.
    Thank goodness Holly won’t share their terrible fate. I had a Rottie once named Trixie, who was a loyal and sweet dog who didn’t deserve the bad reputation of the breed. I think you’ll find the same wonderful kind of animal, and I wish you many years of happiness with her.
    Thanks for restoring my faith in humanity, even if it’s just for a few hours….until Vick’s arraignment.
    Chris Johnson

Leave a Reply

 
