The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 971,429 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Notes from Around Here

Posted by thedarwinexception on July 19, 2007

So there was no testimony today in the Spector trial – so I had the whole day to do other things. And I ended up not doing a whole hell of a lot. I did sit on the couch and catch up on all the stuff I tivo’d in the last few weeks. I got caught up on Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D List – which I love, and Top Chef, which I love.

I wish I could cook like those chefs on Top Chef. But, I have absolutely no idea what a seviche is, or chorizo, or a chipolte, or a balsamic reduction, and I don’t like mushrooms, which they seem to use quite a lot of. And I don’t think I’ve ever had fennel. And they seem to make a lot of stuff “tartar”, which I think means “raw”, and there’s no way I am eating  anything “tartar” unless it comes out of a Little Debbie box.

But I would like to make a seviche *and* a  reduction, because, you know, I’d like to serve Paul a dinner just once where I can say “Yes, this is Tyson’s frozen chicken breasts, taken out of the box, thawed and lightly broiled in the oven. I finished them with a light seviche and a balsamic reduction. On the side is a  fennel and Del Monte canned corn dressing and Instant Mashed potatoes. For dessert – Ben and Jerry’s Chunky Monkey Ice Cream with a blueberry reduction.”

Because I’m just fancy like that.

Oh – and guess what *else* I did today??

I went to the fairgrounds and entered all my stuff in the fair! I downloaded the application this morning, and I realized when I was looking over the application that only the *application* had to be in by tomorrow! I have until August 1st to finish everything! So I am *really* excited. I am exhibitor number 767, which I hope doesn’t mean that there are 766 other knitted things in the competition. But since I have until August 1st, I got *really* brave and entered the bunting (which is done), the design my own sweater set (which is almost done), the Winnie the Pooh outfit (almost done) *and* I added another knit sweater with a little pair of pants that match that I picked up the yarn for this past weekend. This outfit is going to be for a member of AFCA who is expecting a baby in November. Well, his wife is, anyway. And the outfit is for the baby, not the guy who has a wife that’s expecting.

But, the design my own sweater is done – except I haven’t sewed the seams yet or blocked it – that’s coming, though. And I need to sew the buttons on the front of the sweater. I can’t decide if I want yellow or green buttons, so I haven’t picked those out yet. The hat is done, too, and now I am working on the bootees.

Here is the sweater and the hat – the hat picture is blurry, but you get the idea.

And when I was headed for the fairgrounds this morning, I happened to look over at the formerly dead lady’s house next door. She has something really weird going on (doesn’t she always?) But, no, this is really odd. She has this window that faces the front of the house, it’s back and to the side of the house a bit. And I notice that the curtains are really long. And we already know they are tied up with vines, right? But the curtains themselves look really “long” to me. So I look a little closer, and I realize that the curtains are on the outside of the window. I shit you not. Now, at first I think “Oh, she has opened the windows, and the curtains are blowing free in the breeze. Romantic. A little odd, but you see that sometimes.” But, no, the windows aren’t open. The windows are closed. And the curtains are hanging on the OUTSIDE of the window.  Now, I ask you, how fucking weird *is* this bitch? Is this like a normal thing in some cultures? Besides ZOMBIE culture?

Oh, and here’s a picture of another kind of flower that grows on that side of my house. because I can’t go over there and have her see me snapping pictures, I have to have some kind of believable reason as to why I am carrying a camera over there, so I take pictures of the flowers. You guys were pretty good at identifying the poppies I had over there – so what are these?

16 Responses to “Notes from Around Here”

  1. Boron Elgar said

    It might be a black-eyed Susan. Got any other pix?

    http://www.gardensablaze.com/Perennials/BlackEyeSus.jpg

  2. poplife said

    Looks like a hybrid Echinacea.

  3. Veronique said

    Echinacea is my guess as well.

    V.

    Also, can you knit socks? Really big ones?

  4. Chris said

    I agree……they’re some kind of Rudbeckia (Black-eyed Susan). Don’t put them in a balsamic reduction!

  5. noor b said

    It looks like some kind of corn bloom.

    I vote for yellow buttons.

  6. Sprocket said

    And I don’t think I’ve ever had fennel.

    We often cook with sweet anise, which is very close to fennel, and/or often called fennel. They are two different plants though. Anise and fennel are root vegetables, and Anise goes quite well with white onion. We make kind of a hash mixture using grass fed beef, parsley root, anise, onion, carrots, and occasionally either some fresh basil or a whole bunch of parsely chopped quite fine.

    Mr. Sprock is the cook in our house, and a faithful follower of Iron Chef, America. Fennel is used quite a bit in the shows, but the one time I had it in a dish, it was quite bitter to me. Not so with anise.

  7. Pattymac said

    I definitely want to live in a town where people hang curtains on the outside of the window. Maybe the Chamber of Commerce lady should have publicized this about Malone instead of the Redneck Games. Make Malone a tourist spot, get one of those buses like they have in Hollywood to drive past the home of the formerly dead lady.

    Pattymac

  8. Charlie Pearce said

    Ceviche is a kind of raw fish salad from Peru, so I don’t know how well it would finish broiled chicken breasts. I can’t be any more descriptive than that as I didn’t sample any when I was out there, thanks to my onion phobia.

    Chorizo is a Spanish sausage made with pork and paprika – think salami rather than links, but a brighter red colour.

    Chipolte? Beats me. Balsamic reduction? Blsmc?

  9. I definitely want to live in a town where people hang curtains on the outside of the window.

    It’s definitely odd looking. But maybe it could catch on.

    Maybe the Chamber of Commerce lady should have publicized this about Malone instead of the Redneck Games.

    The Redneck Games are tomorrow. I saw the sign went I went to the fairgrounds. This year that’s where they are being held.

    Make Malone a tourist spot, get one of those buses like they have in Hollywood to drive past the home of the formerly dead lady

    I’m getting quite a little cottage industry in tourism. I can’t wait for the next person to come so we can tour the formerly dead lady’s house.

    Kim

  10. the one time I had it in a dish, it was quite bitter to me.

    Maybe it’s like cilantro, where 50% of people says it tastes like soap, ant the other 50% say “Does not”.

    Kim

  11. Also, can you knit socks?

    Yes

    Really big ones??

    There’s no difference in big ones or small ones – big ones just take more yarn.

    Kim

  12. If you’ve ever eaten Italian sausage, you’ve eaten fennel seeds. They’re what make Italian sausage taste Italian. Out here on the Pacific Coast there’s wild fennel growing all over the place. They don’t have much of a bulb, though.

    The bulb is probably what your chefs are talking about. Think of celeriac, only with a mildly anise (licorice) flavor instead of celery. Or any root vegetable like turnips or rutabagas.

    A chipotle is just a smoked jalapeño. They’re commonly sold in little cans, packed in a mild sauce, but I’ve seen them plain, too. They’ve got a smoky flavor with a bit of heat.

    Chorizo is a pork sausage and there are two kinds, Spanish and Mexican. The Spanish kind is a mild sausage, like linguica, and the Mexican kind is a spicier chili-flavored sausage. We have Mexican-style chorizo here in SoCal and it’s extremely popular. There even a vegetarian version, Soyrizo, for people who have to cut back on saturated fats. Chorizo is really good when fried and added to scrambled eggs.

    Ceviche is fish that has been “cooked” by being marinated in lemon juice or other acidic liquid. The acid in the juice reacts with the proteins in the fish, coagulating them, and having the same effect as heating does. The fish hasn’t been heated, but it’s not really raw like sushi or sashimi. It’s pretty good, a nice, light salad on a hot day.

  13. Leslie said

    Kim- So glad you’ll be at the fair with your “wares”. My grandmother used to knit or crochet mittens, hats and scarves for myself and my siblings when we were younger. They seemed to last forever. I have a 15 month old baby girl; Val has a little 9 month old boy. I’m sure we’d both like some good old fashioned quality mittens and hats for the babes. The stuff at Walmart and Kmart doesn’t seem to hold up very well.

  14. Sprocket said

    I’m looking forward to hearing how your beautiful creations do at the fair!

  15. My grandmother used to knit or crochet mittens, hats and scarves for myself and my siblings when we were younger.

    You know, I am so glad you mentioned this…I inherited all my grandmother’s old patterns and knitting books when she died, since I was about the only one who did such things, and I never even *THOUGHT* to make mittens and hats – never even *THOUGHT*. You know, I’m going to chalk it up to knitting in FLorida for so long, where such a thing wouldn’t be necessary. (Oh, and being a freaking IDIOT, of course).

    Damn, and I have the NICEST patterns of hers for mittens and hats. We used to actually look forward to getting our new set from Gram every Christmas. She’d always make us each a set to match our new winter coat for that year.

    Crap. I never even *THOUGHT*…..

    I have a 15 month old baby girl; Val has a little 9 month old boy.

    AWWWW!!!! I didn’t realize you both had children so young! Well, gee, I’ll have to make them mittens and hats!!!

    The stuff at Walmart and Kmart doesn’t seem to hold up very well.

    It really doesn’t does it? I remember the hats and mittens my Gram used to make we’d have all year, and sometimes we would trade back and forth if the colors matched – I used my sisters from the year before, she’d use my brothers from two years ago. Gram always made them with the strings that went through the coat sleeves, so we never lost our mittens. And they were so much *warmer* than the cheap thin ones the other kids had.

    Crap. Now I *AM* going to have to dig out that pattern book.

    Thanks for the inspiration and reminder. I can’t BELIEVE it didn’t cross my mind.

    But, they say the mind is the first to go….

    Kim

  16. Leslie said

    Kim- I was thinking about last year when I was in the commercial building selling Snocross tickets, etc for the Malone Chamber of Commerce for all 10 days of the fair- thought I’d pass along a few tips:
    Bring your own food- the fair food is horribly expensive.
    Bring someone with you- so you can at least go use the restroom or take a break.
    Be aware that thousands of people go through that building daily…but they are looking for freebies, especially the kids.

    Other than that, good luck and maybe I’ll see you there :>)

Leave a Reply

 
