The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 969,686 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Notes From The Homefront

Posted by thedarwinexception on June 3, 2007

So Rainman was supposed to be here this morning to come and get his stuff. He hasn’t shown up yet. But as I was putting his pills and medications into a box for him, I did find a picture of him and the blind girlfriend. I scanned it and then put it away – just so I could show it to all of you.

Aren’t they a beautiful couple?

In other news, the Dish is working again. The service guy came on Friday and said “Oh No, you didn’t need to cut down those trees on the left – you need to cut down those trees on the right. So we got the Tree guy out here again the first thing Saturday morning. And he cut down the two trees on the right of the dish.

 

After that, the Dish worked, right? Oh no – because nothing can be as simple as all that. No, we *still* had no reception, so I called Dish Network – again. And this time I told them “Look, people, I have now cut down 6 trees and I still can’t watch TV. I want someone out here *today* to fix this shit, not next week – today. Oh, and by the way, I want a credit on my account, too.” Surprisingly, they sent the guy out on Saturday afternoon – and they gave me a credit.

So, the guy came back Saturday afternoon and he raised the Dish up about 12 feet. That seemed to solve the problem. Which is a good thing, because I was having a serious Law & Order jones thing going on. You’d be surprised how much you can miss that shit.

And we still have no shortage of trees on the back property, as these pictures can attest.

 

 

Pretty, isn’t it? Almost as beautiful a thing as Rainman and the blind girlfriend.

And I finished the Raggedy Andy! Woo fucking Hoo!!! I am so sick of making dolls that I could just punch Andy in the head every time I see him. My mother better appreciate these fucking things, that’s all I’ve got to say. I will never make a doll again, I’m quite sure.

So I am taking tonight off from sewing, and I’ll start the next thing off the top of the pile tomorrow.

But now, Raggedy Andy is done and the two dolls are happy together.

 

Not exactly Rainman and the blind girlfriend, but…..

5 Responses to “Notes From The Homefront”

  1. Hatpin said

    You can tell from that photo how devoted Blindwoman is to Rainman. It’s in the angle of her head.

    Presumably the “dirt” on their faces is an artifact of the photo being badly stored … but it’s funny nonetheless.

  2. Estron said

    > Not exactly Rainman and the blind girlfriend, but…..

    Much better than them, actually. Raggedy Andy doesn’t smell, doesn’t cry, and doesn’t step on the dog. And Raggedy Ann wouldn’t know what to do with someone else’s check if it blew into her face.

    These are the only types of boarders you shou should have from now on.

  3. You can tell from that photo how devoted Blindwoman is to Rainman. It’s in the angle of her head.

    Ahhh yes, you caught that too, did ya? I thought it was quite fitting. “I’m here, but, you know, not really.” I’m just wondering if the picture was one where he was holding up a fistful of dollars if her head would be turned the other way. I think her blindness has enabled her other senses to be heightened, especially the sense of smell. She can smell a dollar froma mile away.

    Presumably the “dirt” on their faces is an artifact of the photo being badly stored … but it’s funny nonetheless.

    I was going to clean the photo up in photoshop, but I didn’t want to lose the “ambience”.

    Kim

  4. Hatpin said

    Perhaps her head is turned because she can smell his wallet on a side-table?

    And the ambience is central to the way that picture works. Without it, it would just be another picture of a weird guy and his bored “girlfriend” … the dirt just gives it that Malone touch. A certain je-ne-sais-qua. I particularly like the “bruise” beneath her right eye.

    Tell you what, Kim, if you cleaned up the wall behind them, maybe replaced it with a nice clean shade or pattern, but left their faces and clothes the same, that would be an even more wonderful and satirical pic. I’d have a go myself, but I don’t have Photoshop installed at the moment.

  5. Kitt said

    Those dolls are lovely, even if you hated doing every stitch. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

 
