The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,486 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Sewing Room Update

Posted by thedarwinexception on April 17, 2007

So I am finally finished the overalls and shirt for Paul’s friends new baby – and just in time, too. He was born this past Sunday. Here’s a picture of one of the newest little Malonians – isn’t he cute?? Well, I think he’s cute – for a baby, anyway.

I finished the coveralls and the shirt that I made for him, and Paul brought them over to Ray and Lynn’s last night. I guess they liked the outfit. This was the first time I had used the embroidery part of my machine to embroider anything. I ended up doing a picture of Saturn on the front pocket of the overalls, since the fabric of the shirt had little planets and stars and astronauts on it. It ended up coming out pretty cute. Don’t you think?

Oh, and while we are talking about sewing, check out this picture of my sewing room and see if you can see anything new or different about it: And don’t say “yeah, Kim, it’s a fucking mess.” Because that ain’t it.

See that black thing on the side of the sewing machine? What is that? Why – that’s a freaking Laptop!!

A while back we were talking in AFCA and I mentioned that it was a pain in my ass to have to keep going from the computer room to the sewing room to load embroidery designs on the sewing machine. See that funky colored box thing that is attached to the laptop? Well, that converts all my designs. And saves all the designs. That used to be in the computer room because I didn’t have a laptop or another computer to put in the sewing room. I would download designs onto the computer, convert them in the funky box thing, then bring the disk that the funky box saved them to into the sewing room to put the disk into the computer. Pain in the ass. Especially when some of the deigns didn’t save in the right colors, and I had to keep going back and forth from the sewing room to the computer room to see which freaking color was next.

So, we were talking about it in AFCA, and soon after groo emailed me and said “Hey, I have some laptops, you want one? What do you need?” And after a week of emailing back and forth, I got the laptop in the mail. And groo didn’t charge me a penny for it – he didn’t even want reimbursement on the shipping costs! Is groo a great guy or what? This makes me *much* less likely to call him “that bastard that quit doing the summaries”. Now I shall refer to him as “That awesome fucking guy that sent me the laptop.”

So I have been busy all week loading all my embroidery software onto the laptop, sorting through all my tens of thousands of designs and categorizing them correctly and naming them things other than HUS15443 so I can find them when I want them.

I LOVE the laptop. I am happier than a Malonian on the third of the month. And now I don’t have to run back and forth when I am embroidering something. Woo Hoo. This makes life a LOT easier. And the sewing room just looks so damned *awesome* with a laptop in it.

So everybody say a great big “THANK YOU” to groo. He deserves it.

12 Responses to “Sewing Room Update”

  1. Veronique said

    Now I want an embroidered saturn on my shirt pocket.

    V.

  2. What?? Not a sheep?

    Kim

  3. Veronique said

    Sheep too. But the Saturn is fabulous. I’m so impressed.

  4. Hey Thanks! I thought it was pretty good for a first try! Now I am more fired up than ever to start sewing out all kinds of neat designs I have.

    And I *do* have sheep.

    Kim

  5. Speaking of sheep, I got a new knitting bag from Cafepress:
    Lamb Tote Bag
    This guy, Franklin, draws some great sheep.

    and a new tee that’s a lot funnier if you’re a knitter:
    Ribbed
    I’m a little dubious about wearing this in public, though.

  6. Oh Man! I *Love* the knitting t-shirt. That’s awesome!

    Kim

  7. Jerry Randal Bauer said

    THANK YOU, groo!

  8. TourPro said

    One of the ladies I work with has a bit of a sewing ‘hobby’. She’s always talking about ‘the dongle’, and various arcane software programs. It all seems to cost an ungodly amount. I keep telling her to download some ‘preview’ versions, but it seems there are not that many people uploading pirated embroidery stuff. Huh, who knew?

    I’m such a tech geek, I’d almost consider learning how to use a sewing machine just so I could hook it up to my computer. It would look very cool next to the joystick and can of pressurized air.

  9. One of the ladies I work with has a bit of a sewing ‘hobby’. She’s always talking about ‘the dongle’, and various arcane software programs.

    Ahhh, yes. “The Dongle”. Many of the higher end sewing programs make use of the “dongle”. It’s a “key” that you have to keep installed (usually in a usb drive) in order for the program to run. The software looks for the “key”, and if the dongle is not in the USB drive, the software won’t open.

    It all seems to cost an ungodly amount.

    Yup. Sewing isn’t cheap, that’s for sure. BUt it depends on what you want to do. If you want to do basic sewing, you can get a nice machine that does basic stitches for less than $100. If you want more professional seams and hems – you can buy a serger for roughly $200. It’s when you get to machine embroidery that costs start to rise significantly. But that’s mostly because there are a lot of people who incorporate machine embroidery in their business – or make a living at digitizing designs.

    I keep telling her to download some ‘preview’ versions, but it seems there are not that many people uploading pirated embroidery stuff.

    I haven’t really looked at software packages online – most machines come with *some* sort of package. But all the different machines use their own proprietory software. You can’t use PE Design, the Singer software, on a Husqy, for example. But, some packages are easier, more intuitive, and include more features than others. So, people look for alternatives. And embroidery packages that are feature rich, have *auto* rather than *manual* digitizing, and convert designs between different machine formats, can cost several *thousand* dollars.

    I haven’t tried too much digitizing on my own – there are so many designs out there already done it’s cheaper and easier to drop a few dollars on a completed design than learn complicated digitizing techniques. So I’m not *really* in a position to review my own software packages. The most I’ve used is a free conversion program I downloaded from the Wilcom site.

    ALthough I am looking for a good cataloguing program.

    I’m such a tech geek, I’d almost consider learning how to use a sewing machine just so I could hook it up to my computer.

    It *does* look cool. That’s a huge draw. Even people who don’t sew are quite impressed when you tell them your sewing machine hooks up to the computer and that you download things onto a disk for the sewing machine. They automatically consider you quite knowledgeable and quite the “expert” – even if, like me, you don’t *quite* know what the hell you are doing.

    Kim

  10. Dana said

    Groo is a *totally* awesome guy. He sent me a Tivo. No, really.

    I love Groo. And it’s only partly ’cause he sent me a Tivo.

  11. Groo is a *totally* awesome guy. He sent me a Tivo. No, really.

    Cool! That was great of him to do! I love groo.

    I have like three Tivo’s laying around here, and I would have sent you a Tivo if I had known you wanted one, only because I think *you’re* pretty awesome, too.

    Kim

  12. Dana said

    😀 Happy now.

    It’s mutual. I think you’re one of the most remarkable people I know.

Leave a Reply

 
