The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,467 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

A Trip to the Clinic

Posted by thedarwinexception on March 6, 2007

Well, we went to the clinic today – just got back, in fact. The clinic was actually very nice – seemed to be staffed well, there were only two people ahead of us when we got there so we were seen quite promptly. The staff was very nice and seemed concerned and caring and asked lots of questions and took lots of notes. Every department we ended up visiting at the hospital was quick, efficient and equipped with the best and newest equipment I had ever seen at a hospital. 

The end result for now is that Paul is still alive and not diagnosed with anything horrendous – net yet, anyway. Although I’m waiting for that shoe to drop. Most of the tests they ran weren’t the instantaneous kind, where we could have the results before we left. The doctor is supposed to call with the results in a few days. They did chest X-rays, which looked fine, they did a urine sample and blood work – and we did find out that Paul is anemic. How, I don’t know. The guy eats plenty of red meat – and when he does eat it, he eats a ton of it. Of course, he eats a ton of everything that he eats.

We also found out that his blood pressure is extremely low. The triage nurse said it was 93 over 61. She said that was quite low, so I guess I believe her, although I’m not quite certain what Paul’s “normal” blood pressure is. But the last few times he’s been to the doctor’s no one has ever said it was low, so this must be lower.

They also did a thyroid test, the results of which are part of those “we’ll call you with the results” tests.

But Paul was more cooperative than I thought he would be – part of his own fear, I think. He even took the day off of work today to go, without a whole lot of insisting on my part. And he admitted things to the doctor that he hadn’t even told me – things like “I’ve been spitting up blood quite a bit”, and “Sometimes I have terrible night sweats” and “I get dizzy sometimes and have to sit down.” And “I get really annoying tingling in my legs and arms and lots of tightness in my chest.”

I think a lot more of this will be explored with his Primary Care Physician. I have to make an appointment tomorrow – hopefully it won’t be for two weeks from now. The Primary Care guy supposedly will have all the test results available by the time we get in to see him. When the Clinic guy said that I wasn’t sure if he was touting the efficiency of the Clinic or making a statement about how long it will take us to get an appointment with the regular doctor.

But I do feel tons better, I really do. At least I’m halfway confident that Paul isn’t going to pass out at work in the next couple of days – and just letting someone else know about it seems to relieve some of the stress and pressure. I mean, they didn’t admit him, so that’s got to mean something, right?

9 Responses to “A Trip to the Clinic”

  1. Boron said

    Kim, please keep us posted. I hope all goes well with Paul, who is one of the most gentle and kindly folks I have ever met.

    G

  2. Lisa Ann said

    Sorry to be an alarmist…but did they do a TB test? (Sorry, I hear weight loss, night sweats and spitting up blood…I remember Gramma…)

    Hugs again and keep us posted!

    Lisa Ann

  3. Bill T said

    Middle-aged guy with anemia. Spitting up blood. Loses weight. He must get scoped both ends and soon. Men are not allowed to have significant anemia (say, hct 30% wrong. I assume that much of the rest of expert (physics, economics, computers) opinions to be similarly flawed.

    Sorry to be a bearer of bad news…but it sounds like you and Paul will be seeing a lot of medical types in the next few months. I don’t know either one of you, but I wish you both the best of luck.

  4. Bill T said

    Oops… The post was supposed to read :

    Middle-aged guy with anemia. Spitting up blood. Loses weight. He must get scoped both ends and soon. Men are not allowed to have significant anemia (say, hct 30%) – period.

    I read AFCA from time to time, and find the medical opinions there to be wrong >30%. I assume that much of the rest of expert (physics, economics, computers) opinions there to be similarly flawed.

    Sorry to be a bearer of bad news…but it sounds like you and Paul will be seeing a lot of medical types in the next few months. I don’t know either one of you, but I wish you both the best of luck.

  5. groo said

    Please do keep us updated. We’re all hoping it is something simple and easily treatable.

  6. Boron Elgar said

    Bill T said the following

    I read AFCA from time to time, and find the medical opinions there to be wrong >30%. I assume that much of the rest of expert (physics, economics, computers) opinions there to be similarly flawed.

    Boron replied:
    No reason to think afca is unique in this respect. Not too different in the workplace and Goddess knows the government’s percentages are worse. And just think of Wiki.

  7. Veronique said

    Kim, thanks for the update and let us know how it goes. The anemia could be caused by his spitting up blood, of course.

  8. Mike said

    Kim, 93 over 61 is low, but it’s not low to the point of being a concern unless that’s much lower than normal. My blood pressure is 100 over 60 – it always has been, and both my parents had similar blood pressure. That’s generally considered a good thing, even though almost everyone who measures my blood pressure measures it twice, just to make sure.

  9. RobAtSGH said

    Ummm… lupus or something like it? Especially with the neuropathic symptoms (tingling in extremities), anemia, pulmonary hemmorhage, weight loss, and confusion. Any history of autoimmune disorders in his family?

Leave a Reply

 
