The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,281 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

Hey! I’m not kidding here – I have Stats!

Posted by thedarwinexception on October 27, 2006

So, according to City-Data.com, the following is a little snippet of life in
Malone, just in case there’s anyone reading who thinks “Oh, there’s ignorant
folks in *every* town, Malone can’t be all that bad.”

According to city-data,

Median resident age: 35.7 years
Median household income: $27,716 (year 2000)
Median house value: $58,000 (year 2000)

Which really isn’t bad. Well, except for the house part. That’s pretty low
for housing costs. At least, when I look at Burlington, Vermont it’s pretty low,
because according to City-data.com, here are the comparable stats for
Burlington:

Median resident age: 29.2 years
Median household income: $33,070 (year 2000)
Median house value: $131,200 (year 2000)

So houses are more than double in price in Burlington. Which is about right,
I think. But really, I don’t think you could buy a porch in Burlington for
$131K.

More stats from
City-data for Malone:

 

Races in Malone:

  • White Non-Hispanic (70.0%)
  • Black (18.6%)
  • Hispanic (11.2%)
  • Other race (6.3%)
  • American Indian (0.7%)

(Total can be greater than 100% because Hispanics could be
counted in other races)

 

Ancestries: French (17.5%), Irish (10.9%), French Canadian
(8.6%), United States (8.0%), English (5.6%), German (3.3%).

But here is the
really scary part, and the part that kind of answers the question “Gee, why
aren’t there any bookstores in Malone?”

 

 

For population 25
years and over in Malone

  • High school or higher: 53.5%
  • Bachelor’s degree or higher: 10.2%
  • Graduate or professional degree: 4.9%
  • Unemployed: 7.1%
  • Mean travel time to work: 18.4 minutes

Out of the population of over 15,000, just slightly more than HALF have a
high school education. How depressing is that? And apparently, I’m in the very
small minority as far as Bachelor’s degrees go.

Let’s compare that to Burlington, which probably isn’t *too* fair, because
there are like 5 colleges in Burlington. But still, let’s take a look.

For population 25
years and over in Burlington

  • High school or higher: 87.7%
  • Bachelor’s degree or higher: 42.0%
  • Graduate or professional degree: 15.6%
  • Unemployed: 5.4%
  • Mean travel time to work: 16.8 minutes

Yeah, that’s just as I figured.

Let’s look at the rental situation in Malone:

Houses: 2,811 (2,589 occupied: 1,315 owner
occupied, 1,274 renter occupied)
Median price asked for vacant for-sale houses in 2000: $51,200

Median rent asked for vacant for-rent units in
2000: $340

Median gross rent in Malone, NY in 2000: $413

 

Rent is cheap, I guess. So, if anyone wants to
move here and maybe help move some of those percentage points up a little, I’d
appreciate it. Who knows, with enough people in town who can actually read, they
might even upgrade the library, or maybe even open a fucking book store.

4 Responses to “Hey! I’m not kidding here – I have Stats!”

  1. GossG said

    I wonder who else in your fan club is calling in from Calgary. I didn’t know about this blog till today, and today I’m linking in from Cloverdale on vacation.

    I thought I was the only Calgary AFCAn.

  2. Hmmmmm….I don’t know. Hell, I figured it was you! Maybe NJM?

    What I want to know is who the guy is from Pakistan. I’m wondering if it’s the guy we bought the house from – he’s probably sitting over in Pakistan laughing his ass off thinking “I am *so* glad I got the fuck out of there!”

  3. Perplexio said

    Those numbers are so low because so many people who DO graduate from Malone and go off to college to get their bachelor’s degrees rarely return. I should know, I was one of them. I moved back after I graduated from college in 1999, but I’d moved from Malone to Ohio by March of 2000 and never looked back.

    Most of my friends/acquaintances from high school who also went to college settled down elsewhere. There’s nothing really to bring us back. There’s a certain lack of job opportunities.

    Malone is caught in a vicious Catch-22, to improve the population needs to increase but for the population to increase the town needs to improve.

    I think the death knell for Malone was the removal of the railroad back in the fifties. That was Malone’s link with the outside world. The nearest major Interstates are I-81 down by Watertown and I-87 over by Plattsburgh… unless you want to go to Canada, then I suppose the 401 is a little bit closer as you can get on that in Cornwall.

    Malone needs a major industry to put a factory or offices there and they either need a railroad to pass through or the infamous “rooftop highway” that gets mentioned every few years but nothing ever comes of that. It’s supposed to run across the Northern chunk of NY state connecting I-87 in Plattsburgh with I-81 in Watertown and pass just south or just north of Malone.

    Malone DID have a bookstore in the eighties and into the early nineties, The Write Stuff. It didn’t last unfortunately, but even when it was there it was a sad sad excuse for a bookstore. I always relished my trips to go to the mall in Plattsburgh because at least they had a B. Dalton and later on a Waldenbooks.

    Oh and for what I paid for my townhome out here in suburban Chicago, I swear I could have bought a swanky mansion in Malone. You know those nicer homes over by the golf course in Malone? Out here those would probably sell for close to, if not over $1 million.

  4. HI Perplexio!

    Thanks for stopping by and thanks for commenting! I love your insights into the “Malone Dilemma”.

    And I love the theorizing about the railroads. Is the railroad the source of the population that used to own all those big houses on Park and Elm streets? Their presence implies that once there were residents who demanded such large and grand houses. And was the railroad the source of the visitors who necessitated the Flanagan hotel? I always wondered why such a large and opulent hotel was needed in the middle of downtown Malone.

    I’m sure you are correct, also, in assuming that anyone with a college degree and a brain has long since fled the area. It sure makes it hard on the rest of us, though, dealing with the leftovers. With all the people gone who would have the ambition to do anything good for the town, there’s not a lot left here.

    And I know all about the “if my house sat anywhere else…” problem. Even my house, if sitting in Burlington, would fetch a nice $150K or more – even without the extra land and the barn. When my friend was here from New Jersey, we called a realtor and went and looked at a couple houses for sale. We looked at that big brick house on the corner of Park & 30. They were asking $178K for it, and my friend said that in New Jersey that house would certainly bring closer to a million – if not more.

    Where was the bookstore? I would *kill* to have a bookstore here. Or a library. Hell, *I* have more books than the library has. And I hate that the library isn’t online. I’ve been thinking about calling them up and volunteering to put their “collection” on line. Shouldn’t take long, I managed to put my collection into Librarything in less than a week, theirs
    should only take a couple of days.

    Anyway, glad that you stopped by! I hope you’ll come back for more. Or, just move back here – it will make me feel less alone and surrounded by morons – and that way, too, you can vote for me for judge!

    Kim

Leave a Reply

 
