The Darwin Exception

because it's not always survival of the fittest – sometimes the idiots get through

  • Recent Posts

  • Stuff I Blog About

  • Visitors

    • 970,062 People Stopped By
  • Awards & Honors

    Yesh, Right! I don't HAVE any "Awards & Honors" - so nominate me for something - I want one of those badge things to put here. I don't care what it is - make up your own award and give it to me. I'm not picky.

How I got Here and Why I Stay

Posted by thedarwinexception on October 23, 2006

OK, I know what you’re thinking. Well, besides “This woman is crazy” , you’re thinking “Kim, if this place is so bad that you have to start a Blog on the internet in order to have a place to vent – well WHY DO YOU STAY?”
OK, fair question.
Why I stay is linked to “How I got Here” – so let’s take a look at this.

https://i0.wp.com/img.auctiva.com/imgdata/0/0/7/7/7/5/webimg/24042538_o.jpg

This is our house. Ok house. Needs some work. But how much would this house sell for if it was sitting next door to you? I know if it was sitting on our property in Florida, I could get maybe $65K for it. If it was sitting on the land we sold in Vermont before moving to the “beautiful” foothills of the Adirondacks, I could have gotten $100K for it. But here, in lovely Malone New York, for this 4 bedroom, two story, two porches home *with* a Harley Barn, *and* an extra lot – we paid Nine Thousand Dollars for this house. Yup. $9,000. Cash. And the taxes are less than $1,000 a year.
This is the survey of our property. We own all the land in the “T” shape. The back half is all wooded. Already we have cleared out some of the fallen and dead trees and sold them as firewood, recouping about half of the $9K we paid for the house.
https://i1.wp.com/img.auctiva.com/imgdata/0/0/7/7/7/5/webimg/24043015_o.jpg

So that’s one reason I am here. well, the biggest reason, I guess. A nine thousand dollar house.
And it’s close to Vermont. We are about 1.5 hours from the bridge to Vermont, which is close enough to go and see my family when I want to, but far enough away where “drop ins” and lending money to them is difficult. When you have siblings such as mine, this is an important factor. More about them later, in some other post.
And hubby likes the mountains. He’s a Harley guy, and up until we moved here from Florida, he had never driven in mountainous areas before. He likes it. Of course, he doesn’t like the fact that he can only ride two months out of the year comfortably, but he likes the mountains. These are hubby’s Harleys:
https://i0.wp.com/img.auctiva.com/imgdata/0/0/7/7/7/5/webimg/24044484_o.jpg
I ride once in a while with hubby, but not very often. I don’t get the whole “lifestyle” he seems to think is inherent in owning a bike and riding off to different “rally’s”, “meets” and “runs”. I don’t see it. But, he doesn’t get some of my interests, either, so it all works out, I guess.
But now you know why I stay. It may not be a great reason, but it’s a reason. $9,000 houses just aren’t that common – at least outside of Malone, New York.

2 Responses to “How I got Here and Why I Stay”

  1. Rick said

    You sold four grand of firewood off a lot this size? I’m in the wrong damn business!

  2. I am with you on that one! We are looking into several wooded properties to buy just to harvest the lumber from them, clear them, grade them and re-sell the lots as building sites. If you go to J.D. Miller Properties website and click on “Land” you will see several parcels of wooded acreage. There’s one listed – “25.33 acres of wooded land – $12,000.” You could make that back in firewood alone, I’m betting.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

 
